Area Sports Briefs: Jan. 17

Area Sports Briefs: Jan. 17




The University of Mary baseball team is picked 10th out of 16 in the Northern Sun preseason coaches’ poll.

The Marauders won 17 games in 2019, an improvement by 13 wins from the previous season.

The Marauders’ players to watch are a pair of newcomers in infielder Spencer Gillund and pitcher Paxton Thompson.

Gillund, a native of Enderlin, N.D., played two seasons at Bismarck State College, earning All-American honors in 2017. He redshirted last season at North Dakota State.

Thompson, from St. Michael, Minn., transferred to U-Mary from NCAA Division I Bradley where he pitched in seven games as a freshman in 2019.

Augustana top poll followed by Minnesota State-Mankato, St. Cloud State, Wayne State, Minot State, Winona State, Northern State, Minnesota Crookston, Concordia-St. Paul, UMary, Minnesota-Duluth, Southwest Minnesota State, Upper Iowa, Sioux Falls and Bemidji State.

The Marauders, under new head coach Tanner Spencer, start the season Jan. 31 at the 4Him Classic in Cleburne, Texas against Colorado Christian and Rogers State (Okla.).


Sixteen University of Mary athletes have earned the prestigious Northern Sun Myles Brand All-Academic with Distinction Award for 2020.

Earning the award from U-Mary are Cassie Askvig (basketball), Gabriela Castillo (volleyball), Breanna Donarski (volleyball), Madison Jahner (softball), Patricia Martin (soccer), Joseph Monosmith (baseball), Kate Murphy (swimming), Ida Narbuvoll (cross country), Eric Nestorick (swimming), Anna Nietfeld (volleyball), Rachel Riedel (swimming), Johnnie Turner (basketball), Jackson Penner (track), Taylor Pettigrew (soccer), Samuel Wilke (cross country) and Danielle Wolf (tennis).

In order to qualify for the award, student-athletes must maintain a grade point average of 3.75, are using all their eligibility and are on track to graduate. The 16 Marauders honored represents the most in a single year, breaking the previous high of nine. Since going to the NCAA Division II level 11 years ago, 79 U-Mary athletes have earned the award.


Grant Johnson and Jayden Price scored third-period goals to rally Bismarck to a 4-3 NAHL victory over St. Cloud on Thursday night.

Price’s game-winning goal, which came at 13:19 of the final period, was his first goal of the season.

Austin Jouppi and Carl Fish scored in the second period for the Bobcats, who play back-to-back games at the Minnesota Wilderness Friday and Saturday.

Andrew Miller earned the win for the Bobcats (21-8-2-3, 47 points) with 14 saves on 17 shots.


Don Hanson, former editor of The Hoopster preseason basketball books, will be honored posthumously by the North Dakota High School Activities Association. 

Meeting Thursday in Valley City, the NHDSAA board of directors voted to present the Hanson family with the association's Robert D. King distinguished service award. The award is designed to recognize positive contributors to interscholastic activities in North Dakota.

Hanson published The Hoopster for the first time in 1983 and added Miss Hoopster nine years later. Upon Hanson's death in 2018, his family, led by his son, Perry, continued with publication of the Hoopster books.

The Hanson family will be recognized at the state Class B boys basketball tournament in Bismarck in March.


The election of Josh Johnson, Guy Fridley and Rick Diegel to the North Dakota High School Activities Association board of directors was certified by the sitting board on Thursday in Valley City.

Johnson, Valley City superintendent of schools, was elected the Class A at-large representative. He succeeds Scott Privratsky of Devils Lake.

Fridley the athletic director of the Dickinson public schools, was was elected as the North Dakota Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association representative. He will take the seat currently held by Michael Sorlie of Gwinner.

Diegel, superintendent of the Kidder County school district, will represent the Class B Southeast region. That position is currently held by Mitch Carslson of LaMoure.

The eleven NDHSAA board members serve four-year terms.


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News