Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Sixteen votes separated the second and third top vote-getters in Mandan’s race for two city commission seats in Tuesday’s primary.

By 9:15 p.m. Tuesday with all precincts reporting, incumbent Dennis Rohr won with 846 votes, followed by challenger Amber Larson with 783. Sixteen votes behind her was incumbent Shauna Laber.

The North Dakota Secretary of State’s website highlighted a “possible demand recount” on the race due to the small percent difference in votes. 

Larson said she is waiting to learn more about a recount after "a whirlwind" of a night. 

"It’s too early for me to say exactly what I'm feeling," she said, after collecting campaign yard signs in her vehicle. She added she was glad for competition and the choice of candidates in the race.

Laber said she hadn’t given much thought to a recount given the recentness of the votes reported, but said: “I suppose with it being only that close, I should be responsible and just make sure that is the true and accurate number, and obviously, Amber’s a very smart, capable woman, and I think the city will be in good hands in her care.”

The Tribune attempted to reach Rohr twice by phone Tuesday night but was unsuccessful.

Challengers Ashley Kelsch and Bee Maloney received 734 and 341 votes, respectively, in unofficial results.

In Mandan’s park board race, with all precincts reporting, challenger Miles Mehlhoff and incumbents Jason Arenz and Chad Hatzenbuhler clinched the three seats available in the four-way race with challenger Jan Fasching also on the ballot.

Mehlhoff received 1,164 votes, with Arenz receiving 1,121 and Hatzenbuhler getting 1,118, in unofficial results.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Reach Jack Dura at 701-250-8225 or


Crime and Courts Reporter