Try 3 months for $3

Timothy Mihalick, of Minot, and Nick Hacker, of Bismarck, were appointed Friday by Gov. Doug Burgum to the North Dakota Board of Higher Education.

Mihalick is a business development officer at First Western Bank & Trust of Minot. He will fill the unexpired term of Greg Stemen, who retired from state Board of Higher Education in September. Stemen’s unexpired term ends June 30.

Hacker is the president of North Dakota Guaranty & Title Co. and has served on the state Board of Higher Education since July 1, 2015, currently as vice chair. He was reappointed to a four-year term that begins July 1 in his current seat.

“Nick and Tim both bring strong backgrounds in organizational and business leadership and an intense passion for higher education in North Dakota that will serve our students and citizens extremely well,” Burgum said. “We’re deeply grateful for the many excellent candidates who expressed their strong desire to serve higher education in North Dakota.”

The governor selected Hacker and Mihalick from two pools, each with three candidates selected by a five-person nominating committee. The North Dakota Senate still must approve their appointment.

Hacker previously worked as the state government affairs manager for the American Land Title Association. He represented District 42 in the North Dakota Senate for four years from 2004 to 2008 and was an entrepreneur finance consultant at the University of North Dakota Center for Innovation for three years. Hacker holds a bachelor’s degree in finance from UND and a certificate in legislative leadership from the Bowhay Institute. He has served on the board of directors for the Greater North Dakota Chamber and the Bismarck-Mandan Chamber of Commerce.

Prior to taking on his current role in September 2017, Mihalick worked for the Minot-based real estate investment firm IRET for 36 years, including as president and CEO for the past eight years. He earned a bachelor’s degree in business administration and management from Minot State University and is a current member and past president of the MSU Board of Regents. Mihalick has served as past president of the Minot Family YMCA and the Sertoma Club of Minot, as former chairman of Minot’s Special Assessment Commission and as a board member and vice chairman of Trinity Medical Center.

The Board of Higher Education has eight voting members appointed by the governor, including a student member, and two non-voting members who represent the North Dakota University System’s faculty and staff. The board oversees the system’s 11 public colleges and universities.

Eleven others applied for the openings:

The 13 who applied are:

  • Thomas Atkinson, Bismarck, an environmental engineer for the Western Area Power Administration
  • James Carlson, Fargo, a pharmaceutical researcher at Axis Clinicals
  • Brandon Lemer, Bismarck, activities director and business teacher at Shiloh Christian School
  • Robert Marthaller, Bismarck, retired school superintendent and former assistant superintendent in the North Dakota Department of Public Instruction
  • Lonnie Pederson, Oxbow, executive director of the Jeremiah Program
  • Mike Seminary, Bismarck, former Bismarck mayor and business development manager at Houston Engineering
  • Taya Spelhaug, West Fargo, North Dakota manager of Microsoft TechSpark
  • Ruth Swaney, New Town, tribal education director for the Mandan, Hidatsa and Arikara Nation
  • Wayne Trottier, Rugby, school administrator
  • Benjamin Vig, Sharon, farmer
  • Susan Wefald, Bismarck, writer and community volunteer, former state public service commissioner

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.