Subscribe for 33¢ / day
100717-nws-simle-middle school

The managing director of the North Dakota Watchdog Network, a state Highway Patrol employee and an environmental manager for a coal company are among the latest to apply for open seats on the Bismarck School Board.

There are three open school board positions for the June 12 election. All three incumbents Karl Lembke, Matt Sagsveen and Jon Lee have re-applied for four-year terms on the board.

Dustin Gawrylow, Travis Jensen, Steven Mayer and Jay Volk applied for the open seats by the Monday deadline. Others who previously announced their candidacy are Lawrence King, Heather Kitzan and Carl Young.

Gawrylow is head of the nonprofit organization, the North Dakota Watchdog Network.

Jensen is a service truck operator for Northwest Tire Truck & Farm.

Mayer is an employee for North Dakota Highway Patrol.

Volk is an environmental manager for BNI Coal. He was previously a member of the Mandan School Board, but resigned in 2015 before he moved out of the school district to Bismarck.

Three seats will go unchallenged in the Mandan School Board election. Incumbents Sheldon Wolf, Caroline Kozojed and Rick Horn re-applied for positions on the board.

(Reach Blair Emerson at 701-250-8251 or


Education and Health Reporter