Dittus places in Guard shooting

The Fargo-based 119th Wing "A" North Dakota National Guard team again captured top honors at the 2018 Adjutant General's Combat Marksmanship Match held July 7-9 at the Camp Grafton Training Center firing complex, near McHenry.

Among the second-place shooters from the 817th Engineer Company was Staff Sgt. Jason Dittus, of Mandan. Dittus also came in second in individual competition.

Spring graduates from university

Morton County students were among nearly 2,000 who  were eligible to cross the stage during four commencement ceremonies at the University of North Dakota in May.

The Mandan graduates are Whitney Bettenhausen, doctor of medicine; Ryan Jockers, master of science; Sadie Larson, bachelor of general studies; Brianna Meissner, bachelor of music; Travis Schantz, bachelor of arts; Job Stramer, bachelor of science in mechanical engineering; Vanessa Stumpf, doctor of medicine; Eric Wanek, bachelor of general studies; Kyle Weinberger, juris doctor; Marcie Woehl, bachelor of arts; and  Kassandra Severson, New Salem, bachelor of science in rehabilitation and human sciences. 

BSC nominates for membership

Bismarck State College nominated 82 students this year for Phi Theta Kappa membership.

The nominees maintained a cumulative grade-point average of 3.5 or better and completed 15 semester hours of associate degree work in residence at BSC. They received a certificate and a paid induction fee into the international, two-year college honor society.

Morton County students nominated for Phi Theta Kappa membership are Andrew Schafer, Flasher; Zachery Allen, Alexa Lembcke, Jolene Olson, Keyera Papka, Taylor Reinhardt, Nicolas Rohrich and Michaela Urlacher, all of Mandan; and Krysten Doll, New Salem.

BSC recognizes outstanding work

Morton County students are among those chosen by Bismarck State College faculty as Outstanding Student recipients in their area based on academic performance, achievement, character, leadership and contribution to the college. Each received certificates and a $50 award from the BSC Foundation.

Andrew Schafer, Flasher, was recognized in engineering, and Allie Weiss, New Salem, in information processing specialist.

Mandan students  earning recognition were Samantha Birrenkott, psychology; Tim Bjugstad, theater; Hallie Burghart, agriculture; technology, food and natural resources; Heath Harmon, process plant technology (on campus); Bailey Schlosser, anatomy and physiology; Joseph Schmidt, cybersecurity and computer network (online); Michaela Urlacher, biology; Chris Vander Wal, mathematics; and Jacoby Woehl, human services.  

Masseth achieves at School of Mines

Nearly 600 South Dakota School of Mines and Technology students were named to the Dean’s List for the spring semester. They were required to earn a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher for the semester.

Lukas Masseth, Mandan, who is studying mining engineering and management, was among those on the Dean's List.

On Deans List at university

More than 1,300 students were named to the Deans List for the spring semester at the University of North Dakota.

The list is made up of students whose grade-point average are in the top 15 percent of the enrollment in each of the university's degree-granting colleges and schools. A student must have completed no fewer than 12 semester hours of academic work for the semester, of which eight or more hours must be graded work rather than "satisfactory/unsatisfactory."

Mandan students on the list are Sarah Curtiss, Jeremy Friesz, Kelsi Hatzenbuhler, Sadie Larson, Ethan Leingang, Riley McLean, Luke Peterson, Justin Schafer, Shae Skager, Bostin Svihovec, Casey Wieland.