Try 1 month for 99¢

Hellman awarded

Kamryn Hellman, a senior at St. Mary's Central High School in Bismarck, was among award-winners in the North Dakota Scholastic Art and Writing Contest.

She received a Gold Key award in the writing portfolio category.

Markle earns award

Jack Markle, a senior at Legacy High School in Bismarck, has been named a 2018 North Dakota Scholar and awarded the North Dakota Scholars Scholarship Award.

The award is a full-tuition scholarship for four years that is awarded to North Dakota high school students who rank in the 95th percentile or higher on the ACT composite score of all North Dakota students taking the ACT. The award is sponsored by the North Dakota University System.

Markle’s parents are Frank and Deana Mack, and Scott and Sara Markle, all of Bismarck.

Debaters do well

A high school debate team composed of students from Bismarck High School, Legacy High School, Century High School and St. Mary’s Central High School did well at the recent state competition.

Luke Miller, LHS, and Brandon Prichard, SMCHS, were the state champions in public forum debate. Nick Korum, CHS, made the top four in his division. Robert Bender, BHS; Isaac Fettig, LHS; Abby Surdez, CHS; and Rachel Roehrich, CHS, were superior speakers in their divisions. Brynn Gaebe and Ashlynn Mitzel, eighth-graders at Horizon Middle School, made it to the quarterfinals in their division.

Prudential finalist

Erica Solberg, a senior at Century High School in Bismarck, is one of two North Dakota Distinguished Finalists in the Prudential Spirit of Community Awards program. She will receive a medallion for “her impressive community service activities.”

Inspired by the death of her best friend in a drunken driving accident, she became an active member of Century’s Students Against Destructive Decisions, helping her chapter earn national recognition and secure $10,000 in a seatbelt contest. Solberg also speaks across the country as a national ambassador for the Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids.

Jazz awards

Several students at St. Mary’s Central High School and Light of Christ Academy received “Outstanding Musicianship" awards at the University of Mary Jazz Festival.

They are Academy Jazz Band members Eli Davis (alto sax), seventh grade; Karsten Larson (alto sax), seventh; Mykendra Messer (alto sax), seventh; Dominic Barone (tenor sax), eighth; and Rachel Bleth (drumset), eighth.

Also earning the awards were SMCHS Jazz Ensemble members Abby Balkowitsch (tenor sax), ninth grade; Caleb Wanner (tenor sax), ninth; Shawn Holweger (drumset), 10th; Joel Huber (guitar), 10th; Grace Klee (bass), 10th; Jeffrey Savadel (trumpet), 10th; Joseph Schon (trumpet), 10th; Braden Benz (vibes), 11th; Kathryn Goettle (trombone), 11th; and Anthony Vecchia (bass), 12th.

Neiss admitted

Carson Neiss, son of Todd and Sandra Neiss, Bismarck, has been admitted to North Dakota State University “With Distinction.” Neiss will enter NDSU in fall 2018 and plans to major in computer science. Distinction means that NDSU is acknowledging him as an honor student.

Choir students chosen

Legacy High School choir director Mike Seil announced the following LHS choir students have been selected for the NDMEA All-State Honor Choirs, taking place March 22-24,at the Bismarck Event Center:

Jazz choir: Allison Bard, Dylan Beck, Bryce Gartner, Harmony Jobe, Logan Kjos, Drew Pengilly, Julian Schock, and Madelyn Schweitzer.

Mixed choir: Marissa Carpenter, Naomi Chaffee, Taylor Ekart, Garret Fettig, Ketina Francois, Justin Learn, Pierce Schmeichel, Aleisha Schock, Aydreyel Schuh, Victoria Schweitzer, Katin Vetter, Jessica Winistorfer, and Brayden Zenker.

Treble choir: Sydney DeWall, Kylee Gifford, MacKenzy Houston, Maddie Hurt, Gabrielle Langer, Scarlett Nogosek, Molly Rickert, Micah Schlittenhardt, Hannah Schumacher, Sydney White, and Alli Williams.

Neibauer in finals

Bismarck High School senior and German III student Samuel Neibauer has been selected as a finalist in the $10,000 Congress-Bundestag Exchange Program academic scholarship. The recipient will get to study and live with a host family in Germany and attend German University Prep School during the 2018-19 school year. His instructor at BHS is Mary Ann Crow.

All-State band

The following Century High School students have been selected for the 2018 North Dakota All-State Band: Leah Bandy, Olyvia Bender, Riley Brannan-Gerhardt, Jackson Data, Heather Davis, Kathlyn Dixon, Amanda Edwards, Vanessa Herrmann, Xi Lin, Jaden Link, Aili Osmond, Gabe Schettler, Maren Schettler, Thomas Vadnais, Seneca Vetter, Haley Visger and Ellie Zentner. Alternates are Josh Griffin, Gabe Hagerott, Eric Klein, Tristan LaPlante, Ava Pfeifer and Elise Smokey.

All-State choir

The following Century High School choir students, under the direction of CHS choral director Mary Pat Archuleta, auditioned and were selected for the N.D. All-State Choirs event March 22-24 at the Bismarck Event Center.

Jazz choir: Ashley Steffenson.

Treble chorus: Shaylin Messmer, Abby Hopkins, Sydney Sundsbak, Autumn Dodd, Olivia Murdoff, Brenna Olsen, Brynn Shirley, Bailee Otterness and Avery Meyhoff.

Mixed chorus: Katie Pitcher, Jane Gowen, Olivia Kost, Rachel Schall, Laura DeGraw, Cullen Mitzel, Patrick Watson, Hunter Wilmes, Konnor Stordalen and Evan Sayler.

Poetry Out Loud

Several area students will be competing in the North Dakota State Poetry Out Loud competition on Feb. 26 in Bismarck.

Students who won their school-level competitions and the opportunity to compete at state include Camryn Alt, Elgin/New Leipzig High School; Jadyn Anderson, Dakota Adventist Academy, Bismarck; Liz Holzer, Legacy High School; Sara Jones, Mandan High School; Maria Kalb, St. Mary's Central High School, Bismarck; Naomi Njos, Grenora High School; Dylan Red Bow, Solen High School; Sarah Vadnais, Bismarck High School; Maggie Weeks, Magic City Campus, Minot High School; and Abby M. Wuollet, Ray High School.

The first round of state competition at the North Dakota State Heritage Center & State Museum begins at 9 a.m., the second round at about 10:30 a.m. and the final round at 1:15 p.m. followed by a performance by spoken word poet Joe Davis and an award ceremony. All events are free and open to the public.

Each winner at the state level receives $200 and an expense-paid trip with an adult chaperone to Washington, D.C., to compete for the national championship. The state winner's school receives $500 to purchase poetry books. The first runner-up in each state receives $100, with $200 for his or her school.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.