Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Eligible for honor

Several area high school students are among 70 from North Dakota chosen as Presidential Scholar candidates.

Selection factors include nomination by the state superintendent of public instruction, exceptional performance on the ACT or SAT college entrance exams, demonstrated promise in career and technical education, and academic and CTE potential. The U.S. Department of Education will name one male and one female student from each state as Presidential Scholars for 2018.

Presidential Scholars receive an expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C., in late June to meet with educators and government officials, and receive a medallion at a ceremony sponsored by the White House. There is no cash scholarship.

Bismarck-Mandan candidates, listed with their school, are Nicholas D. Porsborg and Sarah L. Vadnais, Bismarck High School; Gabriel J. Schettler and Erica J. Solberg, Century High School; Jonathan E. Dolbec and Stephanie Jorritsma, Shiloh Christian School; Dawson J. Dutchak and Kody L. Johnson, Dickinson High School; Samuel I. Dart and Taylor A. Roehl, Elgin-New Leipzig High School; Morgan E. Krizan, Hebron High School; Colton D. Carlson and Julia E. Shirley, Jamestown High School; Kathryn R. Slavick, Mandan High School; Brody J. Armstrong and Alyssa C. Ramsey, Minot High School Magic City Campus; Braden R. Rayhorn, New England High School; Dreyton C. Rud, New Salem High School; Travis J. Dean, Stanley Community Junior-Senior High School; Dakota Anne K. Sipe, Watford City High School; and Chase D. Bader, Wishek High School.

Writing winners

More than 20 students from Horizon Middle School received awards in the North Dakota Scholastic Art and Writing Contest, the most winners of any city.

Listed below are the winning Horizon eighth-graders and their awards.

Poetry: Olivia Data, two Gold Key; Athalia Haughton, Silver Key; Emily Russon, Silver Key; Mariah Cavanagh, honorable mention; Aliyah Schaar, honorable mention; Catalina Finkielman Bramati, honorable mention.

Short story: Sarah Dorrheim, Gold Key; Katrina Cysewski, Silver Key; Brynn Gaebe, Silver Key; Luke Pengilly, honorable mention; Data, honorable mention.

Dramatic script: Brooklyn Morris, Gold Key; Ashlynn Mitzel, Silver Key; Victoria Fink, honorable mention.

Science fiction/fantasy: Sana Kathawala, Gold Key; Morgan Nelson, Silver Key; Hailie Wilke, honorable mention.

Personal essay/memoir: Ainsley Sabo, Gold Key; Megan Hubley, honorable mention.

Humor: Carsten Irgens, Silver Key.

Flash fiction: Avery Nelson, honorable mention.

Journalism: Erin Palmer, honorable mention.