Try 1 month for 99¢

Hoffer attending

Sarah Hoffer, of Bismarck, is among students who enrolled at the University of Findlay in Ohio this fall.

Hoffer is pursuing a master of physician assistant degree.

Scholarships given

Two local North Dakota State University students have been acknowledged as scholarship recipients at a reception on campus.

Emily Kautzman, daughter of Gerald and Mary Kautzman, Mandan, received the Paul Gallagher Scholarship in the amount of full tuition for the 2018-19 academic year.

Kautzman is a senior majoring in construction management with a minor in business administration. Her activities at NDSU include engineering ambassadors and Society of Women Engineers.

Amy Bodvig, daughter of Todd and Sue Bodvig, Bismarck, received the $500 Vareberg Family Engineering Scholarship for this academic year.

Bodvig is a junior majoring in industrial engineering and management.

Skager assisted

North Skager, from Mandan, is among more than 500 incoming freshmen who received scholarships from the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire for the 2018-19 academic year.

Skager was given the Blugold Fellowship, Freshmen Honors and Out of State scholarships.

Part of homecoming

Two area students are among 12 finalists selected for the homecoming royalty court at Minnesota State University Moorhead.

Leslie Miller, St. Anthony, is a mathematics: actuarial science major with minors in music, statistics and finance. She is involved in the Actuarial Science Club, Math Club, Dragon Leadership Program and works as a Snarr desk manager. Her goals are to pass her actuarial exams, teach piano lessons and do music ministry work.

Chantell Mindt, Mandan, is a biology pre-med major involved as a student orientation counselor and plays on the women’s rugby team. Her goals are to become an emergency room doctor or surgeon. ​

All nominees must be MSUM students, in junior standing with a cumulative grade-point of 2.5 or greater and actively involved on campus.

Honor society OK'd

Dickinson State University’s petition for a charter of The National Leadership Honor Society, Omicron Delta Kappa, was approved recently by the organization's board of directors.

DSU’s charter group of more than 25 members will include faculty, staff, administrators and student leaders as founding members of the circle.

Bahm gets scholarship

Cheyenne Bahm, Mandan, who is studying agricultural business at Bismarck State College, is among eight students who received scholarships from the North Dakota Grain Dealers Educational Foundation.

The $1,000 scholarship is for the 2018-19 academic year.

Court clerkship  

Katie Carpenter, Moffit, has been selected to serve a one-year clerkship with the North Dakota Supreme Court for the 2019-20 term beginning Aug. 1, 2019.

Carpenter received a bachelor of arts degree in history, political science and Spanish from the University of Jamestown. She is expected to receive her juris doctor degree from the University of North Dakota School of Law in May.

Belohlavek achieves

Alexandra Belohlavek, Mandan, is among students named to the President’s Honor Roll for the summer semester at Washington State University, Pullman.

To be eligible for the honor roll, undergraduate students must be enrolled in a minimum of nine graded hours in a single term and earn a grade-point average of 3.75 or earn a 3.50 cumulative GPA based on 15 cumulative hours of graded work.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.