Subscribe for 33¢ / day

SDSU dean's list

South Dakota State University, Brookings, has announced its fall semester dean’s list.

To earn dean's list distinctions, students must have completed a minimum of 12 credits and must have earned at least a 3.5 grade-point average on a 4.0 scale. Students with an asterisk received a perfect 4.0 GPA.

Area students on the dean’s list include Natasha Hesse, Bismarck, College of Nursing; Caitlyn Becker*, Flasher, College of Agriculture & Biological Sciences; Rebecca Watkins, LaMoure, College of Agriculture & Biological Sciences; Colton Cook*, Minot, Jerome J. Lohr College of Engineering; Victorya Dykema, Strasburg, College of Arts & Sciences; and Hannah Willson, Wimbledon, College of Nursing.

Two earn degrees

Nearly 300 students graduated from Minnesota State Community and Technical College, Fergus Falls, during commencement ceremonies in December.

Among the new graduates are area students Peyton Walker, Jamestown, associate of applied science, network administration and security; and Molly Lein, Mott, associate of applied science, business: management, marketing and sales.

Future PAs advance

Thirty-two University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences students have begun the clinical portion of their studies to earn master of physician assistant studies degrees.

A White Coat Ceremony was held Jan. 12 for the group, which includes area students Catherine Bopp and Timothy Simonich, both of Bismarck; Jenny Brown, Center; and Jennifer Christianson, Minot.

Dakota State honors

A total of 504 full-time and 192 part-time students qualified for the President’s Academic Honors list for the 2017 fall semester at Dakota State University in Madison, S.D.

Students earned a grade-point average of 3.5 to 4.0 to qualify for the honors list.

Area full-time students on the list include David Moracco and Nicholas Paczkowski, both of Bismarck; Ashly Wodrich, Carrington; Bernard Dawaare, Dickinson; and Paula Rodriguez, Jamestown.

Lucas Sundby, Bismarck, is among the part-time students on the honors list.

Two on honor roll

MidAmerica Nazarene University, Olathe, Kan., recently announced its President's, Dean's List and Honor Roll for the fall semester.

Students in traditional programs carrying 12 semester hours or more may qualify for one of these academic honors.

Christen Zimmer, Jamestown, and Brydon Wanner, Mandan, were both named to the Honor Roll, which requires a semester grade-point average of 3.2-3.49.

AMVETS scholarships

Bismarck AMVETS Post 9 and Auxiliary awarded 14 $500 scholarships for the current school year to the following students, listed with the colleges they attend:

Erica A. Binegar, University of Mary; Katie J. Leary, University of North Dakota; Lindsey J. Willnow, Ian P. McDonald, Darren R. Wilke and Caitlyn M. Inman, Bismarck State College; Benjamin Holen, Valley City State University; Shaun W. Anderson, Andrew Rosendahl-Pinks, Mitchel A. Schulzetenberg, Abby N. Voight, Benjamin M. Yantes and Brett H. Butler, North Dakota State University; and Andrew L. Holen, Concordia College.

To be eligible, students must be full-time students entering their second half or quarter of their first year of college or be in their second through fourth year of college. Applicants also must have maintained a 3.0 grade-point average in their last semester of school.