Subscribe for 33¢ / day

NSU scholarships

Several area students have received 2017-18 WolfPACT scholarships from Northern State University in Aberdeen, S.D.

The WolfPACT is a guaranteed, four-year scholarship. Students entering their freshman year at NSU are eligible for various funding amounts based on their ACT scores.

Scholarship winners are listed under the award amount, with their parents’ names if provided and their high schools.

• $7,000: Parker Heger, Mike and Talesa Heger, Underwood; McKinley Hoselton, Catherine and Adam Hoselton, Richardton-Taylor; Morgan Mewes, Jamestown; Emily Reiten, Brian and Betsy Reiten, Jamestown; and Sarah Schafer, Wayne and Norleen Schafer, Flasher.

• $5,000: Seth Braun, Jay and Sarah Braun, Century in Bismarck; Haley Hillstrom, Hugh and Tiffany Hillstrom, Jamestown; and Brandi Krueger, Christina Krueger and Steven Krueger, Wishek.

Nursing scholarships

Several nursing students from Bismarck are among recipients of scholarships from the Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota Caring Foundation.

Recipients of $2,500 scholarships for the 2017-18 school year, listed with the college they attend, include Anna Hopkins, North Dakota State University; Caitlin Stockert, Dakota College at Bottineau; Faith Sirma, United Tribes Technical College; Kennedie Boehm, NDSU; and Melissa Stewart, University of North Dakota.

MSUM graduates

Minnesota State University Moorhead awarded degrees to about 485 students during its fall commencement program Dec. 14.

Among those earning degrees are:

Bismarck — Kaylee Emineth, bachelor of science, summa cum laude; Kendra Hellebust, bachelor of science; Hayley Hilfer, bachelor of science, summa cum laude; Markelle Duttenhefner Ziegler, bachelor of science; Rachael Franus, bachelor of science, summa cum laude; Joshua Rants, bachelor of science, magna cum laude; Cameron Seibold, bachelor of fine arts, magna cum laude; and Courtney Zander, bachelor of science, cum laude.

Dickinson — Madison Steier, master of science.

Harvey — Alicia Lamm, bachelor of social work.

Wolfgram involved

Dane Wolfgram, of Bismarck, participated in four Christmas at Concordia concerts that brought more than 3,000 Concordia students, faculty, staff, alumni and community members to St. John Lutheran Church near the Seward, Neb., campus. The concerts featured the Women's Cantamus Choir, Male Chorus, Concordia Handbell Choir, University Brass Ensemble, University A Cappella Choir and University Symphonic Band.

Graduation speaker

Braeton Erhardt, Center, was chosen as a student speaker to address the graduating class at Dickinson State University’s fall commencement on Dec. 15.

She used DSU’s distance Teacher Education Program to complete her mathematics education degree on the Bismarck campus.

Erhardt graduated from Hazen High School as valedictorian of the class of 2012 and received an associate in arts degree from Bismarck State College in 2014.

Erhardt is a math teacher at Mandan High School.

Beck gets master's

Minnesota State University Mankato awarded 1,817 degrees at the end of the fall semester in commencement ceremonies Dec. 9.

Anne Beck, Mandan, received a master of science degree in experiential education.