Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Leadership class

Rural Leadership North Dakota has selected its eighth class of individuals who will spend 18 months developing skills to help them shape the future of their organization, community and state.

The 26 people in the North Dakota State University Extension Service's leadership development program that starts in November will participate in in-state seminars with experts, out-of-state trips to meet with agricultural, business and governmental leaders and a trip abroad to learn about international agricultural and community issues. They also will practice the skills they learn by creating a project that benefits their operation, business, organization, community or region.

Among those in the 2017-19 class are area residents Paula Anderson, Regent; Tyler Bowen and Shanda Morgan, both of Bismarck; Matt Dahlke, Lincoln; Wade Elder and Suhail Kanwar, both of Watford City; Brooke Kessel, Hettinger; Mandy Kvale, Thunder Hawk, S.D.; Doug Naze, Surrey; Annika Plummer, Dickinson; Trudy Ruland, New Town; and Heather VanGelder, Sidney, Mont.

Lee selected

Marilyn Lee, professor of art and chair of the Department of Fine and Performing Arts at Dickinson State University, was selected to participate in the inaugural cohort of North Dakota Change Network, a program created by the Bush Foundation to enable North Dakotans to build their self-awareness, leadership abilities and systems-change skill sets. Lee will join 14 other North Dakotans to complete the yearlong program.

Lee, who is on a one-year sabbatical, has been employed at DSU since 2002 and has served as department chair since 2014. She has a bachelor of arts degree in art from Valdosta State University and master of fine arts in photography and printmaking from the University of Memphis. Before coming to North Dakota, Lee taught art in Georgia, Tennessee and Texas.

DSU honorees

The DSU Heritage Foundation, in conjunction with the Alumni Association at Dickinson State University, has announced the 2017 Alumni Fellows and honorees receiving the Golden Hawk, Young Hawk and Blue Feather awards.

The Golden Hawk, the foundation’s highest honor, has been awarded to Rep. Mike Lefor, class of 1980.

The Blue Hawk Touchdown Club received the Young Hawk Award, which recognizes recent graduates who have distinguished themselves in their personal and professional lives.

Jim Ozbun is the recipient of the Blue Feather Award given each year to individuals who have made significant contributions to DSU. Recipients need not be alumni.

The 2017 Alumni Fellows are Jay Transtrom ’06, Tim Transtrom ’03, Tina Transtrom Kincaid ’03, Jason Hopfauf ’93, Mark Perkins ’76, Randy K. Burwick ’86, Nancy Tamayo Dutot ’77, Ryan Boettcher ’98, Gerard Altermatt ’90, Amie Malkuch Schillinger ’03, Amanda Kubik Young ’05 and Gwyn Herman ’71.

The honorees were recognized at a banquet and at activities during the recent homecoming week.

Wolf's service cited

Al Wolf, a longtime Bismarck resident and practicing attorney for 57 years, received top honors from the Benedictine Health System, which operates St. Gabriel’s Community in Bismarck and senior communities in five Midwest states.

Wolf was presented with the Trustee of the Year Award at the health system’s annual conference in Duluth, Minn. The award recognizes Wolf’s exceptional leadership as a member of the St. Gabriel’s Community board of trustees and his contributions in furthering the mission and values of the Benedictine Health System in North Dakota.

Wolf’s association with the Benedictine Health System includes many roles over more than 25 years.

Wolf and his wife, Karen, live at St. Gabriel’s in Bismarck.

Music camp signup

Registration is underway for the 63rd season of the International Music Camp near Dunseith.

In weekly sessions in June and July students of all ages can gain concentrated knowledge in music, dance, creative writing, visual arts, theater and other fine arts disciplines.

Campers can register on the International Music Camp website,, or by calling the IMC winter office at 701-838-8472.

Harvest Bowl honors

Former Gov. Jack Dalrymple will receive the 2017 Agribusiness Award on Nov. 10 during North Dakota State University's 44th annual Harvest Bowl program.

The award recognizes individuals who have distinguished themselves in the field of agriculture and business in North Dakota and beyond.

Dalrymple grew up near Casselton on the family farm, which was established in 1875 as North Dakota's first large-scale wheat farm. He graduated with honors from Yale University in 1970, then returned to North Dakota to manage the farming operations.

In 1982, he was named Outstanding Young Farmer of North Dakota and went on to win the Outstanding Young Farmer of the U.S. award.

Dalrymple served eight terms in the North Dakota Legislature beginning in 1985. While serving in the Legislature, he was instrumental in the reorganization of the Agricultural Products Utilization Commission into a value-added grant program. He also initiated the State Board of Agricultural Research and Education and its granting committees.

Dalrymple was also the founding board chairman of Carrington-based Dakota Growers Pasta Co.

In 2000, Dalrymple was elected lieutenant governor, serving 10 years with former Gov. John Hoeven.

Dalrymple was sworn in as the 32nd governor of North Dakota on Dec. 7, 2010, and served until Dec. 15, 2016.

Dalrymple continues to manage Dalrymple Farms at Casselton.

Outstanding agriculturists from all counties in North Dakota and 10 counties in western Minnesota also will be honored during the Harvest Bowl program.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.