Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Teaching program

Bismarck Public Schools, in partnership with the University of Mary's Liffrig Family School of Education and Behavioral Sciences and Dickinson State University Bismarck campus, is one of four teacher education programs in the United States that will receive direct services to train student teachers, their K-12 cooperating teachers and schools of education how to implement Project-Based Learning in classrooms.

Previously only teachers already working in classrooms received PBL training from the Buck Institute for Education. The ECMC Foundation has provided nearly $725,000 to the Buck Institute for the three-year Out of the Gate training program.

Arts in schools

The North Dakota Council on the Arts has received $15,000 through the Sharing Success matching grant program launched by CoBank in 2012.

Mor-Gran-Sou, Basin Electric Power Cooperative and CoBank each provided $5,000 in matching funds for a total of $15,000.

Received by NDCA on behalf of Turnaround Arts: North Dakota, the funds will support ongoing professional development for arts integration and related projects at Standing Rock Elementary and Standing Rock Middle schools in Fort Yates.

Turnaround Arts is an effort to transform schools through the strategic use of the arts. Turnaround Arts works in a cohort of the lowest-performing 5 percent of America’s elementary and middle schools.

'Healthy' 4-H

Thirty-six 4-H clubs in 19 counties were recognized for demonstrating their commitment to learning about and practicing healthful habits by being designated as a Healthy North Dakota 4-H Club for 2016-17.

The clubs earned the recognition for making "Eat Smart. Play Hard." lessons part of their meetings during the past year. Thirteen clubs earned extra recognition for completing the Family Mealtime Challenge.

"Eat Smart. Play Hard. Together" is a statewide campaign that emphasizes the importance of making healthful food choices, getting regular exercise and families eating together. This was the 10th year some clubs were named a Healthy North Dakota 4-H Club. This year, each club member received a certificate of recognition and a small prize.

The area clubs recognized this year are listed by county, number of members and number of years they have received the Healthy North Dakota 4-H Club recognition, and whether they completed the Family Mealtime Challenge. The challenge encouraged families to set a goal for weekly family meals. The 4-H'ers tracked the number of family meals they ate for a month.

Burleigh: Caring Hands, eight members, six years; Dynamite Kids, 21 members, four years; McKenzie Magnums, 16 members, seven years; North Stars, 11 members, five years; Silver Colts, 11 members, eight years, completed Family Mealtime Challenge.

Divide: Flickertails, 14 members, 10 years.

Grant: Roughriders, eight members, first year, completed Family Mealtime Challenge.

Kidder: Kidder County Creative Kids, 14 members, first year, completed Family Mealtime Challenge.

LaMoure: LaMoure Cloverleafs, 30 members, four years.

McLean: Washburn Cowboys, eight members, three years.

Mercer: Dakota Pride, 10 members, first year, completed Family Mealtime Challenge; Kountry Kids, 10 members, first year, completed Family Mealtime Challenge.

Morton: Missouri Valley Bunch, 23 members, 10 years.

Sheridan: Northern Lights, 17 members, first year.

Stark: West River 4-H Club, 19 members, first year, completed Family Mealtime Challenge.

Ward: Prairie Ryders, seven members, two years.

Volunteer honors

Marlys Hlavinka, of Mayville, will receive the 2017 AARP Andrus Award for Community Service during a volunteer recognition luncheon Oct. 12 in Fargo.

Other nominees who will be recognized include Cleo and Joan Boschee, Wishek; James Delzer, Ashley; Bill Willis, Bismarck; and Carla Wolf, Center.

AARP North Dakota selected Hlavinka for her significant volunteer service, especially her leadership in creating Mayville’s Caring Club in 1993.

Started to convert used greeting cards into reusable cards, the club has raised more than $100,000 for the Mayville hospital.