Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Scholarships given

The Mandan Public Schools Foundation for Education awarded more than $27,000 in college scholarships to Mandan High School 2017 graduating seniors, who are listed below by scholarship, with their parents:

Foundation Basic Scholarships ($1,000) — Kaylin Tomac, Charles and Annette Tomac; McKenna Baer, Jonda and Bill Baer.

Foundation Education Scholarship ($1,000) — Richard Zander, Richard and Charlotte Zander.

Foundation Career and Technical Ed Scholarship ($1,000) —Travis Fleck, Patty and Tim Fleck.

William Neff Scholarship ($500) — Alexa Lembcke, Mandi and Tim Lembcke.

Mary Vogel Carrick Endowment Fund Scholarship ($2,000) — Kaitlyn Schaner, John and Carrie Schaner.

Mary Vogel Carrick Endowment Fund Scholarships ($1,000) — Kaylin Tomac, Charles and Annette Tomac; Abigail Patrick, Joan and William Patrick.

Carleen M. Porten Endowment Fund Scholarship ($1,000) — Keyera Papka, Polly Bahm and Michael Papka; Zoey Nelson, Benjamin and Jayre Nelson.

Rose Thompson Scholarship ($500) — Samantha Power, Scott and Carrie Power.

Maury Thompson Scholarship ($500) —Luke Peterson, Rick and Kathie Peterson.

Arnold Larson Scholarship ($1,000) — Emily Schmidt, Tess and Brian Schmidt.

Lefty Faris Scholarship ($250) — Dale Spilman, Tim and Kelly Spilman.

Herman Schafer Scholarship ($1,200) — Alexa Lembcke, Mandi and Tim Lembcke.

Lenore Browning Cummings Scholarships ($1,000) — McKenna Baer, Jonda and Bill Baer; Micayla Bitz, Mike and Kristi Bitz; Samantha Bussman, D’Aulan Bussman; Erik Spilman, Tim and Kelly Spilman.

Lenora Brownings Cummings Scholarships ($500) —Jayden Andresen, Mark and Julie Andresen; Luke Peterson, Rick and Kathie Peterson; Kaitlyn Schaner, John and Carrie Schaner; Connor Weiland, Mike and Kirstie Weiland.

Mandan Moose Lodge Scholarships ($2,000) — Sophia Munns, Ross and Andrea Munns; Brian Meissner, Randy and Deanna Meisner; Kaitlyn Schaner, John and Carrie Schaner; Kaelan Reedy, Jocelyn and Patrick Reedy.

College aid offered

The North Dakota Grain Dealers Educational Foundation is taking applications for financial aid for the 2017-18 school term. Nine awards of $750 are anticipated.

Major emphasis is on students pursuing careers in grain marketing, agronomy and related agribusiness. Qualifying curriculums are listed at under Education Foundation.

The scholarship application deadline is Sept. 29. Applications can be downloaded at “Education Foundation” or requested by writing the foundation office at 1325 23rd St. S., Suite A, Fargo, N.D. 58103, calling 701-235-4184 or emailing

Program cited

Wendy McGinley, director of the massage therapy program at Williston State College, accepted the 2017 Director’s Award of Excellence in Health and Sciences from the North Dakota Department of Career and Technical Education.

The award is an acknowledgment of superior career and technical education programs in North Dakota from secondary, postsecondary or continued education levels that have been operational for at least two years.

WSC was recognized as the only community college with a massage therapy program and the only program on the western side of the state.

Additionally, WSC received the Director’s Award of Excellence for exceeding the national examination pass rate standard of 72 percent every year for the past three years with a pass rate of 100 percent.

AMVETS officers

AMVETS Post 9 in Bismarck elected and appointed the following officers for 2017: Jim Nelson, commander; Theresia Fode, first vice commander; Bob Fode, second vice commander; John Zacher, third vice commander; Joe Bachmeier, finance officer; Lyle Schuchard, adjutant, honor guard captain, public relations; John Adolf, judge advocate, scholarships; Norm Delzer, provost marshal; James Nelson, chaplain; Keith Salter, past commander; Jerry Clooten, quartermaster; Gary Maddock, Americanism; Myron Mosset, historian; Mark Landis, veterans service officer, legislative director; Keith Cleveland, community service officer; Bob Olzweski, gaming chairman; and Lorraine Black, gaming manager.

Bismarck residents serving as North Dakota AMVETS Department officers are James Nelson, second vice commander, NDVCC legislative director; Norm Delzer, provost marshal; Myron Mosset, historian; Maddock, Americanism chairperson, national executive committeeman; Ray Geffre, chaplain; and Jerry Meske, employment officer.

Toastmasters awards

Highnooners Toastmasters No. 3171 earned the Select Distinguished Club Award for the 2016-17 year that ended June 30, with seven of 10 Distinguished Club Program goals completed and 20 members.

Educational awards were achieved by Sheila Herman, Competent Communicator; Cindy Moos, Competent Communicator, Advanced Leader Silver, Distinguished Toastmaster; and Marlene Anderson, Advanced Communicator Gold.

The North Dakota Association of Agricultural Educators presented awards at its annual banquet Aug. 8.

Ag education awards

Nikki Fideldy, agricultural education instructor and FFA adviser in Center, received the Outstanding Young Member Award.

The award is sponsored by Twin Cities Region Northland Ford and recognizes third-, fourth-, or fifth-year teachers who have remained enthusiastic about the profession and are recognized for their participation in professional activities within the NAAE.

Fideldy is in her fifth year of teaching and has led classrooms and FFA chapters in Rugby and Center.

Tim Aichele, retired agricultural education instructor and FFA adviser from Beulah, received the Outstanding Service Citation from the NDAAE.

The award is sponsored by Monsanto and CHS Foundation and recognizes current and retired NDAAE members for significant contributions to agricultural education at the state, regional and national levels.

Aichele taught agricultural education for over 32 years in Turtle Lake and Beulah.

Hess Corp. and Central Sales of Casselton and Jamestown received the group’s Distinguished Service Award, sponsored by Monsanto and CHS Foundation.

The award recognizes organizations, agribusiness companies and others for outstanding support to agricultural education.

In 2016, Hess awarded the North Dakota FFA Foundation $26,000 to purchase environmental science curriculum kits for the Roughrider Great Northwest Educational Cooperative consortiums.

Central Sales of Casselton and Jamestown has contributed to the success of FFA chapters in Casselton and Gackle/Streeter for many years by donating supplies and contributing to scholarships.