Skip to main contentSkip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.

Incumbent Republicans Fedorchak, Haugen-Hoffart win PSC races

From the North Dakota November 2022 Election results series
  • 0

North Dakota Public Service Commissioners Julie Fedorchak and Sheri Haugen-Hoffart have secured their seats for another term.

Fedorchak, a Republican, had 71% of the vote and Democratic-NPL challenger Melanie Moniz had 29% with all precincts reporting in Tuesday's election. Haugen-Hoffart, a Republican, had 70% of the vote and Democratic-NPL challenger Trygve Hammer had 30%.

Fedorchak will serve a six-year term. Haugen-Hoffart, who was appointed to fill a vacancy earlier this year after Brian Kroshus became tax commissioner, will serve the remaining four years of the term.

The three members of the PSC regulate electric and gas utilities and permit energy projects. The commission also handles issues related to coal mine reclamation, telecommunications, railroads, auctions, weighing and measuring devices, gas pipeline safety and underground damage prevention. The position carries an annual salary of $117,610.

The third PSC member, Randy Christmann, was not up for election this year.

Burleigh County Election Manager Erika White explained the entire process on how votes are cast and counted on machines which are used in all 53 counties in North Dakota. Assisting White is McKenzie County Auditor/Treasurer Erica Johnsrud. The demonstration was held for members of the media and local residents and officials in Bismarck on Friday. The effort was to show how safe and secure the election process is as the mid-term elections coming up on Nov. 8th.

Reach Jackie Jahfetson at 701-250-8252 or


* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News