Try 1 month for 99¢

Lakoduk with NDAREC

Brian Lakoduk has joined the North Dakota Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives as a safety instructor.

Originally from Butte, Lakoduk is a graduate of Bismarck State College’s lineworker program. He has 24 years of experience in the industry.

Bazzell joins IDT

Dorman Bazzell has been hired as chief data officer, one of three new leadership positions, in North Dakota’s Information Technology Department.

Bazzell has more than 30 years of industry and consulting expertise in data analytics and business intelligence, most recently as a solution principal for Slalom Consulting.

Lawyers included

The 2018 Super Lawyers Business Edition has listed Patrick Durick, Larry Boschee, Zachary Pelham, Rachel Bruner, Jack Zuger and Andrew Askew, all with Pearce Durick PLLC, as top lawyers. The publication lists top lawyers nationwide who have mastered their skills in specific business-related practice groups.

Awards received

Two lignite mines and one power plant received safety awards, 12 people were honored for their contributions to the lignite industry and four companies were recognized by the North Dakota Public Service Commission during the Lignite Energy Council’s recent awards luncheon.

Employees of the Coteau Properties’ Freedom Mine and Montana-Dakota Utilities’ Lewis & Clark Station were recognized with Distinguished Safety Awards for having accident rates below the industry average.

Employees at Falkirk Mining Co.’s Falkirk Mine received a traveling trophy for the lowest overall accident incident rate in the lignite industry in 2017.

Maverick Thompson, principal engineer at Otter Tail Power’s Coyote Station at Beulah, received the Community Service Award for his work with the Energy Wellness Center that opened this year in Beulah.

Tyler Schafer, president and general manager of Environmental Services LTD, Mandan, won the LEC’s 2018 Contractor/Supplier Member of the Year Award. He was nominated by employees at the Coyote Station.

Ten people received the Ambassador of Lignite Award for their achievements and support of the lignite industry. They are Charlie Bullinger, Great River Energy; Shirley Campbell, North Dakota Industrial Commission; Jeff Keller, Cris Miller, Duane Miller, Curt Pearson, Michael Riedman and Mike Risan, all with Basin Electric Power Cooperative; Brad Klipfel, Otter Tail Power Co.; and Ray Sorge, Coteau Properties Co.

The PSC also recognized four active lignite mines for their work on a five-year study to reduce soil compaction during the mine reclamation process: Freedom Mine, Falkirk Mine and Coyote Creek Mine, all owned by North American Coal Corp., and BNI Coal’s Center Mine.

Monthly awards

Judy Maslowski, Shirley Thomas, Phyllis Rittenbach, James Jeromchek, Jim Jeromchek and Amber Sandness, Bianco Realty leaders in closed sales in September.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.