Try 1 month for 99¢

Brown with salon

Ashley Brown has joined the team at Identity Salon.

Brown specializes in Bioelements facials, and eyelash extensions.

Miller with Waterford

Amy Miller has been named life enrichment director at Waterford on West Century.

Miller most recently owned and operated Preserved Petals in Minot, which sold gifts and freeze-dried flowers, and previously was a licensed funeral director for 10 years.

Attain MDRT

Securian Financial Advisors of ND Inc. has approved several memberships in the 2010 Million Dollar Round Table. Rob Montgomery is a qualifying and life member with 10 years in MDRT; Daryl Braun is a life member with 13 years in MDRT; David Wald is a qualifying member with one year in MDRT; and Jim Jensen is a qualifying member with five years in MDRT and approved for Court of the Table.

Zander is chef

Ryan Zander, a Bismarck native, has been named executive chef for JJ Astor Restaurant, Lounge, and View, scheduled to open June 9 in the former Top of the Harbor Restaurant in Duluth, Minn.

Zander joined JJ Astor after a 10-year career in the Upper Midwest, most recently at Trattoria Tosca in Minneapolis.

Awards from GM

Three Ressler Chevrolet employees have been honored with General Motors’ Mark of Excellence award.

David Lingen, Rodney Sandvig and Wade Huber have received the Mark of Excellence award because of their commitment to excellence, obtaining sales objectives and maintaining superior CSI scores.

Each will receive a diamond to insert into their GM rings.

Changes at agency

The State Historical Society of North Dakota has recently made some staff changes.

Erik Holland is the new curator of education, replacing Marilyn Snyder, who retired April 1. Holland previously was site supervisor at Fort Buford State Historic Site. He received a master of arts degree in history from the University of Wisconsin at Milwaukee and a bachelor of arts in anthropology and archaeology from the University of North Dakota.

Walter Bailey and David Fournier have retired. Bailey had been the historic preservation planner since 1973. Fournier was an instrument technician who began working for the agency in 1984.

Photo archivist Sharon Silengo received a certificate of advanced study in archives and records information from the University of Wisconsin in Milwaukee. She has been the agency’s photo archivist since 2000, and is designated as a certified archivist by the Academy of Certified Archivists.

Awards for Basin

Several staff members of Basin Electric’s external relations and communications department were Spotlight on Excellence award recipients during the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association 2010 Connect Conference in Kansas City, Mo.

The recipients, listed with awards (excellence is a first-place award, merit is second and mention is third) and categories:

  • Andrea Blowers, staff writer/editor, merit, best feature story.
  • Erin Huntimer, staff writer/editor, mention, best feature story; Tracie Bettenhausen, staff writer, and Kelly Jo Wald, former communications assistant, also contributed to the story.
  • Blowers and Karen Will, multimedia specialist II, merit, best video/DVD; Ken Yetter, multimedia specialist III/senior graphic designer, also was a contributor.
  • “Rural Roots,” photographed by Jen Holen, multimedia assistant-photographer, excellence, best photo.
  • Mary Klecker-Green, supervisor of public and member communications, excellence, best news story.
  • Bettenhausen, mention, best news story; Wald was a contributor.
  • Bettenhausen and Klecker-Green, excellence, best application of electronic communication; other contributors include Blowers; Huntimer; Julie Slag, staff writer/editor; Chris VandeVenter, legislative representative; Tracy Fugere, demonstration coordinator; and Wald.
  • Greg Wheeler, multimedia II-audiovisual producer, excellence, best individual ad.
  • Tracey Krusi, multimedia specialist II, merit, best advertising program; Klecker-Green also contributed.
  • Krusi, excellence and merit, best computer graphic design (illustration).
  • Lindseth, merit, best advertising program; other contributors to the campaign were Wald and Holen.

An award of merit in best external newspaper/magazine went to Basin Today, the cooperative’s bi-monthly magazine edited by Huntimer. Contributors to the magazine include Bettenhausen; Blowers; Wald; Slag; Klecker-Green; Holen; Nicole Lindseth, multimedia specialist I-graphics; Steve Crane, multimedia specialist II; Kathi Risch, senior staff writer/editor; Joan Dietz, communication specialist at Dakota Gasification Co.; Ron Harper, CEO and general manager; and Lisa Miller, student intern-communications.

The communications department received an award of merit in best total communication program for “Basin Electric St. Baldrick’s Event: Brave the Shave.”

Two attend

Lance Loken and Reuben Panchol of Western Plains Consulting Inc. recently attended the 2010 North American Environmental Field Conference & Exposition in Tampa, Fla., which focused on the latest technology and methods for dealing with soil and groundwater monitoring and remediation technologies, contamination and subsurface cleanup.

Service noted

Bismarck-area state employees with the North Dakota Office of the Adjutant General who were recently recognized for their service include the following:

  • Fraine Barracks: Holly Gaugler, accounting manager, and Kolleen Koppinger, environmental sciences administrator, both 25 years;   Jeffrey Goetz, systems mechanic, and Paul Zent, master planner, 20 years; Layne Gunderson, carpenter, 10 years;  Jerome Hohbein, National Guard security supervisor, five years; Jason Cook and Nicholas Hoffert, security police, Kristopher Elijah, anti-terrorism program manager, and Darrel Pittman, administrator officer for the Civil Air Patrol, all three years.
  • Army Aviation Support Facility Complex: Steve Millner, custodial supervisor, 20 years.
  • North Dakota Veterans Cemetery: August Honeyman, maintenance supervisor, 10 years; Pamela Helbling-Schafer, coordinator, five years.
  • Raymond J. Bohn Armory:  John Ouradnik, maintenance supervisor, 10 years;  Robert Klein, maintenance supervisor, three years.
  • North Dakota Department of Emergency Services:  Peggy Golke, communications supervisor, 30 years;  Bonnie Dever,  communications specialist, 25 years, Janell Quinlan, emergency program specialist, 20 years; Roxann Hopfauf, account technician, 10 years; Roberta Gullickson and Shanna Johnson, both communications specialists, Cody Schulz, business manager, and Karen Hilfer, administrative officer, all three years.


Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.