Voter eligibility bill among introductions

2013-01-18T14:05:00Z Voter eligibility bill among introductionsBy NICK SMITH | Bismarck Tribune Bismarck Tribune

A bill changing voter eligibility requirements was among those introduced by North Dakota lawmakers on Thursday.

During eighth day of the 2013 Legislature, 16 Senate bills, nine House bills and a Senate concurrent resolution were introduced. Among the newly proposed legislation are:

— House Bill 1328: Adds a line to the duties of the state Board of Higher Education to include that it “Establish the rate of tuition for each institution, provided that the rate does not exceed that which was in effect during the 2013 spring semester.” HB1328 sponsors are Reps. Kylie Oversen, D-Grand Forks, Thomas Beadle, R-Fargo, Alex Looysen, R-Jamestown, Joshua Boschee, D-Fargo, Corey Mock, D-Grand Forks, and Marie Strinden, D-Grand Forks, and Sens. Tyler Axness, D-Fargo, and Mac Schneider, D-Grand Forks.

— House Bill 1332: Changes voter eligibility requirements in North Dakota. Residents would have to have been a resident for 30 days prior to the deadline for distribution of absentee ballots. Currently one must be a resident for 30 days prior to any election. Sponsors of HB1332 are Reps. Randy Boehning, R-Fargo, Bette Grande, R-Fargo, Mike Nathe, R-Bismarck, Roscoe Streyle, R-Minot, Blair Thoreson, R-Fargo, Alon Wieland, R-West Fargo, and Sen. Wesley Belter, R-Fargo.

— Senate Bill 2200: Determines a calculation of credit hours and base state aid funding for North Dakota’s colleges and universities. SB2200 sponsors are Sens. Tim Flakoll, R-Fargo, Ray Holmberg, R-Grand Forks, David O’Connell, D-Lansford, and Reps. Mike Nathe, R-Bismarck, Mark Sanford, R-Grand Forks, and Tracy Boe, D-Mylo.

— Senate Bill 2209: Deals with eminent domain and for siting of energy conversion and energy transmission facilities. Sponsors of SB2209 are Sens. Jerry Klein, R-Fessenden, Dwight Cook, R-Mandan, and Stan Lyson, R-Williston, and Reps. Wesley Belter, R-Fargo, George Keiser, R-Bismarck, and Todd Porter, R-Mandan.

— Senate Bill 2218: Would provide an appropriation of up to $10 million to provide workforce development grants through the North Dakota Department of Commerce to tribal colleges. Sponsors of SB2218 are Sens. Rich Wardner, R-Dickinson, Donald Schaible, R-Mott, and John Warner, D-Ryder, and Reps. Dennis Johnson, R-Devils Lake, Jim Kasper, R-Fargo, and Tracy Boe, D-Mylo.

Reach Nick Smith at 250-8255 or 223-8482 or at

Copyright 2015 Bismarck Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Dollars approved to pay for April grass firefight

Dollars approved to pay for April grass firefight

Increased spending authority to pay for costs associated with last month’s grass fires in the Bismarck area was approved Wednesday during a sp…

2 hours ago

Mineral acre auction nets $1.77 million

More than $1.7 million in bonus payments were secured during a quarterly mineral acre lease auction Tuesday at the state Capitol.

9 hours ago

Firefighters watch perimeter as train fire burns out

Firefighters watch perimeter as train fire burns out

Four oil tanker cars, carrying Bakken crude oil, remained burning Wednesday after a fiery train derailment at 7:30 a.m. prompted the evacuatio… Updated: 10:15 pm

15 hours ago Video Photos



Bismarck planners delay action on northeast development

The hearing for rezoning and platting a mixed-unit development in northeast Bismarck was continued until the May 27 meeting of the Bismarck Pl…

May 05, 2015 4:45 pm

Water main break closes human service center

The West Central Human Service Center plans to reopen Wednesday after a water main break forced the facility to close Tuesday afternoon.

May 05, 2015 4:00 pm

Regulators, environmentalists push Bakken inspectors

Regulators, environmentalists push Bakken inspectors

State regulators say the addition of new staff and regulations passed this legislative session provide an opportunity to better oversee energy…

May 05, 2015 3:45 pm

Featured Ads

View All Ads