Gov. Doug Burgum has announced members of his Innovative Education Task Force, a group that will identify ways to enhance K-12 education by promoting new, creative methods of teaching.

The group will meet over a 15-month period, with its first meeting scheduled for Thursday at the state Capitol. The task force will provide recommendations to the governor and state Legislature.

The 15-member group includes Bismarck Public Schools Superintendent Tamara Uselman. The others are:

  • Stacey Duffield, of Fargo, professor of teacher education at North Dakota State University.
  • Mary Jean Dehne, executive director of the nonprofit Legacy Children’s Foundation in Fargo.
  • Jeff Ubl, of Bismarck, president and principal architect of Übl Design Group.
  • Sonya Hansana, member of Hazen's school board and Oliver-Mercer special education board.
  • Sen. Donald Schaible, of Mott, chairman of the Senate Education Committee.
  • Rep. Cynthia Schreiber-Beck, of Wahpeton, vice-chair of the House Education Committee.
  • Jessie Erickson, of Grand Forks, a parent, teacher and instructional coach.
  • Cody Mickelson, of Jamestown, a teacher.
  • Denise Bervig, of Williston, a social studies teacher.
  • Maggie Barth, head of the Innovation School, a new private school in Bismarck.
  • Michael Gilbertson, secondary principal of New Salem-Almont Public School District.
  • Cory Steiner, superintendent of the Northern Cass School District.
  • Allen Burgad, of West Fargo.

"The incredible caliber of this group reflects a highly qualified pool of more than 150 candidates who have a passion for our students and our future,” Burgum said in a news release. "This group brings a depth of experience, diversity and leadership that will help North Dakota lead the nation in education and help our students succeed in a rapidly changing economy."

Burgum established his Innovative Education Task Force in an executive order he signed last month.

(Reach Blair Emerson at 701-250-8251 or