Report card - June 30, 2013

2013-06-29T23:00:00Z Report card - June 30, 2013 Bismarck Tribune
June 29, 2013 11:00 pm

Stars Team

Horizon Middle School’s seventh- and eighth-grade Stars Team has announced its Superstars of the Year Award winners and its Ray of Light Award Winner.

The Superstar of the Year was awarded to Kelby Anderson and Shaylin Messmer. They were awarded it for demonstrating excellence in the classroom and what it means to be a team player.

The Ray of Light Award was presented to Averie Anderson for having a positive attitude throughout the year.

Wing honor roll

Wing Public School announced the fourth quarter honor roll. Students with two asterisks by their names received highest honors.

Seventh grade: Richard Aguayo, Jade Koski**, Lauren Koski**, Dennis Neustel and Tya Schiele**.

Eighth grade: Wyatt Berg, Haley Filipek, Echo Fontanelle, Travis Johnson, Carter Kershaw**, Taylor Leno, Trevor Mehlhoff** and Brooklyn Vollmer**.

Ninth grade: Kaitlyn Binstock**, Ethan Eckholm, Kate Fox**, Raul Franklin, Luke Johnson, Nicole Sailing and Joe Sipe.

10th grade: Tucker Bergquist**, Awnna Clark**, Hannah Dahl**, Kaitlin Deckert**, Taylor Filipek, Cort Johnson, Karlie Kershaw**, MaKayla Koski** and Amy Landsiedel.

11th grade: Ty Bergquist.

12th grade: Kayla Allmer, Erika Eckholm** and Melissa Mehlhoff**.

Erika Eckholm was awarded the Douglass J. Goldhammer award as voted on by Wing school staff. The award is for general effort, motivation and success during her school career.

Alger scholarship

The Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans is honored to announce the winners of the Horatio Alger North Dakota Scholarship. Recipients have been chosen based on their demonstrated commitment to education, dedication to community service and strength of character in overcoming personal obstacles to achieve academic excellence.

Each scholar will receive $5,000 that will go toward their college tuition, fees, books and on-campus room and board. In addition to the scholarship, the students have access to opportunities in: financial aid and scholarship counseling; college readiness tools and assessments; 24/7 Support and Referral Services including crisis response and counseling resources; free housing opportunities provided by Campus Crest at 44 campuses across the nation; graduate school funding; and access to a network of their peers and alumni through the Association’s website, Facebook and LinkedIn.

Area recipients are: Brianna Bradley and McKayla Gates, Standing Rock Grant School; Kasey Dressler, Richardton-Taylor High School; Erika Eckholm, Wing High School; Corina Feist, Flasher High School; Malarie Fergel and Josie Stebner, Ellendale High School; Courtney Goetz, Mandan High School; Laura Huber, Strasburg High School; Sandra Kruse, Drake High School; Jasmine Stockert, Beach High School; Taylor Thompson, Fessenden Bowdon Public School; and Melissa Thurn, Century High School.

Envirothon Club

The 10-member Bismarck High School Envirothon Club organized a recycling program at BHS that won the state competition through the Can Manufacturers Institute. The school collects and recycles paper and aluminum. BHS will receive a $1,000 award. The club advisor is science teacher Val Smallbeck.

Copyright 2015 Bismarck Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Featured Businesses

View more...