4-H competition

North Dakota 4-H members earned honors in competition at the recent Western National Roundup in Denver.

The Morton County Hippology team of Katelyn Eisenbeis, Ashley Goldade, Brooke Heidrich and Morgan Henke placed second. The team placed third in examination/slides, first in station, sixth in horse judging and sixth in team problem. Individual placings were examination/slides, Henke, seventh, and Eisenbeis, 10th; stations, Goldade, third, Henke, fifth, Heidrich, seventh, and Eisenbeis, ninth; and overall, Henke, sixth, Goldade, seventh, and Eisenbeis, ninth.

In horse demonstration, the Ward County team of Madilyn Berg and Sidney Lovelace placed second with a presentation on colic and the horse's digestive system.

The Ward County team of Samuel Jaeger, Jayd Novak, Thomas Schauer and Jacob Scheresky took second place overall in meat judging. The team was second in placings, fourth in reasons and second in retail ID. Individual placings were overall, Scheresky, first, Novak, ninth, Schauer, 12th, and Jaeger, 22nd; placings, Scheresky, fourth, and Novak, fifth; reasons, Scheresky, third; and retail ID, Scheresky, second, and Schauer, eighth.

The Kidder County team of Morgan Dutton, Cheyanne Klein, Kaden Strom and Teresa Wald placed seventh overall in horse judging. The team judged six performance classes and four conformation halter classes, and provided four sets of reasons for their placing decisions. The team was sixth in reasons, seventh in halter and eighth in performance. Dutton placed ninth in reasons and halter, 10th in performance and sixth overall.

Victoria Christensen, Stutsman County, placed sixth in horse public speaking.

Senate program

Two high school students from Bismarck will represent North Dakota in the nation’s capital during the 56th annual United States Senate Youth Program Washington Week March 3-10.

Brandon Prichard and Erica Solberg will receive an expense-paid trip to Washington for a weeklong study of the federal government with 102 other student delegates. Each will receive a $10,000 college scholarship from The Hearst Foundations.

Prichard attends St. Mary's Central High School, is a class councilman for Student Council, state treasurer of the Future Business Leaders of America and FBLA chairman of fundraising at SMCHS. He has received FBLA awards, more than 20 awards in public speaking and debate and is involved in football, baseball, National Honor Society and Saints for Life. He hopes to practice law, start a bankruptcy law firm and be involved in local and state politics.

Solberg attends Century High School and is a Tri-State Advisory Board member for Northern Lights Students Against Destructive Decisions. She is a national ambassador for the Campaign for Tobacco Free Kids and was selected as a state representative by a national board. She conducted meetings in Washington with North Dakota’s congressional delegation, advocating for tobacco use prevention among the youth. She is state champion for Class A Speech team, and editor of her high school newspaper. She volunteers as a Big Brothers Big Sisters mentor and with elderly foster care. She plans to work as a constitutional lawyer and later as a national political news correspondent.

All-state festival

Several students at St. Mary’s Central High School in Bismarck were selected to participate in the North Dakota High School All-State Music Festival.

Those chosen are:

• Orchestra, Nora Fritz, trombone.

• Band, Gina Nelson, French horn; Grace Klee, euphonium; Jake Pfleger, tuba; alternate, Rebecca Burckhard, clarinet.

• Jazz band, Braden Benz, vibes.

• Mixed choir, Erynn Dunnigan, soprano 1; Chase Angermeier, tenor; John Goettle, tenor; Graydon Williams, bass;

• Jazz choir, Charles Reichert, bass; Anthony Vecchia, bass guitar.

• Treble choir, Rachel Rusch, soprano 1; Alexis Maher, alto 2; Alyssa Rud, alto 2.

•  Alternate to all choirs, Madisyn Rusch, alto 2.

These students will perform March 22-24 at the Bismarck Events Center.

Geography Bee

Some Bismarck Public Schools have conducted school-level Geography Bees and the following students were finalists (winner first, followed by runner-up and any additional placers, each followed by their grade level):

Centennial — Luke Larson, fifth; Matthew Reed, fifth.

Grimsrud — Kashton Klein, fourth; Alexander Joubert, fourth.

Highland Acres — Maiken Alm, fifth; Will Leibel, fifth.

Liberty — Danielle Schill, fifth; Heath Frykman, fourth.

Lincoln — Ethan Thurn, fifth; Jeffrey Moore, fourth; Jacob Farstad, fifth.

Miller — Kaden Solemsaas, fifth; Ashlyn Binstock, fifth; tied, James Matthew Guenther, fourth, Kennedy Kensmoe, fifth, Gnato Douhore, fifth, Trinity Kary, fourth, Asher Robinson, fourth.

Murphy — Reed Hoffer, fourth; Jenny Celley, fifth.

Myhre — Liam Howitt, fourth; Olivia Bettenhausen, fifth.

Northridge — Elliot Hendrickson, fourth; Hayden Parent, fourth.

Pioneer — Liam Sondeland, fifth; Aiven Lenoir, fifth.

Prairie Rose — Lucas MacDonald, fifth; Paxton Ketterling, fifth.

Roosevelt — Gus Phillips, fifth; Avery Fremming, fifth; Mercedes Vanover, fourth.

Solheim — Quinn Kellar, fifth; Dawson Unrath, fifth.

Sunrise — Hana Al-Hawarey, fifth; Jaden Eslinger, fourth.

Will-Moore — Samuel Larson, fifth; Corbin Rislov, fourth; William Pollert, fifth.

Horizon — Srinath Kandooru, seventh; Kinsley Anderson, seventh; Zachary Erickson, eighth.

Wachter — Hunter Miller, eighth; all runners-up, Hayden Posey, sixth, Tyler Howitt, sixth, Raghavaramananathane Igathinathane, seventh, Tara Schneider, seventh, Adam Vasicek, eighth.

Spelling bee

Several Bismarck middle school students will represent their school in the Burleigh County Spelling Bee on Feb. 17.

They are Simle sixth-graders Avery Brousseau and Connor Lemieux, seventh-graders Elijah Bohlen and Pacey Kutzer, and eighth-graders Connor Bloom and Amaris Hutslar.

Wachter is sending sixth-graders Gabe Hanson and Kylie Thompson, seventh-graders Tara Schneider and Katelyn Putney, and eighth-graders Gabriel Benson and Madeline MacDonald.

Horizon Middle School did not participate this year.

Geography winner

Edith Hadlestad has won this year’s Geography Bee at Shiloh Christian School in Bismarck and will go on to qualify for state.

Finalists at Shilohs' bee were Tanner Schlag, Jase Kleser, Edyth Hadlestad, Maria Thomas, Ana San Jose Gonzalez, Michael Fagerland, Tevon Smith, Kohl Blotske, Zachary Turner and Samuel Tschider.