Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Music scholarships

Bismarck-Mandan Thursday Music Club, a senior club of the National Federation of Music Clubs, recently awarded three major scholarships for 2018.

The Greg Slag Scholarship ($500) is awarded to a graduating high school senior who is planning to pursue a music degree. Two area students received the scholarship, Emily Cicha, daughter of Karen and Joseph Cicha, who attends Mandan High School and is a vocal student of Keri Hess-Bolte; and Olivia Kost, daughter of Jay and Karen Kost, who attends Century High School and is a piano student of Diane Eichhorst.

The Belle Mehus Scholarship ($200) is awarded to a piano student in grades six-11. This year’s recipient is Marissa Russon, daughter of Troy and Camille Russon. She attends Century High School and studies piano with David Poffenberger.

Chevy scholarships

The West Dakota Chevy Dealers have launched their 2018 Chevy Scholarship Program that will grant $7,500 in scholarships to high school juniors and seniors for post-secondary education.

Applications are due March 13. The form is available at


A team of students from Horizon Middle School won the Burleigh County MATHCOUNTS competition. The top individual winner was Chance Bowlinger from Horizon. Sameer Kathawala placed second and Srinath Kandooru third.

Members of the Horizon winning team coached by Linda Kaiser are Isaac Anderson, Chance Bowlinger, Srinath Kandooru and Sameera Kathawala.

The second-, third- and fourth-place teams are from Simle Middle School, St. Mary’s Academy and Wachter Middle School, respectively.

The members of the Simle team are Abby Meier, Brynn Miller, Louie Rue and Lucas Stenerson. The team is coached by Andrew Voorhees.

Members of the St. Mary’s Academy School team are Landon Gerving, Andrew Horner, Ben Morman and Kiera Oukrup, coached by Sharol Haugen.

The Wachter Middle School team members are Louis-Francois Belanger, Grace Haider, Adam Vasichek and Noah Cowley. Becky Davis is the coach.

Shiloh debaters

The 105th annual North Dakota High School Activities Association State Debate Tournament was held Feb. 2-3 at Fargo Davies High School.

Galilee Mengesha, Shiloh Christian School, Bismarck, was a semifinalist in Division I Lincoln-Douglas Debate.

Sydney Ebach and Laura Holmstrom, also of Shiloh Christian School, were quarterfinalists in Division III Public Forum Debate.