Festival awards

Legacy High School band students performed Dec. 6 at the West State A Saxophone and Percussion Solo and Ensemble Festival.

Star ratings for exceptional performances were awarded to the Wind Ensemble Percussion Ensemble, Wind Ensemble Saxophone Ensemble, Wind Ensemble Saxophone Quartet and Jacob Curtis for his solo marimba performance. The Wind Ensemble Saxophone Quartet also received an outstanding performance award from its performance site.

Mark Herold is bands director at Legacy.

Outreach project

Horizon Middle School students completed a community outreach project and made 20 fleece blankets as an after-school volunteer activity.

The blankets were donated to the Abused Adult Resource Center and Mission on the Margins.

The project facilitator was health teacher Shelly Kuntz.

'Stars' at festival

Mandan High School students who received star ratings at the West State "A" Sax & Percussion Festival at the University of Mary are:

Saxophone solos: Kaylena Fried, Jonathan LaFleur, Isaiah Goodhouse, Beau Hickman and Jared Fitterer.

Percussion solos: Maggie Beach, Parker Minh and North Skager.

Saxophone ensembles: Sax Choir CBI & II — Anna Masseth, Jared Fitterer, Josh Clark, Maddie Pringle, Abby Anderson, Kaylena Fried, Kaden Felch, Zoe Ritz, Brittany Helm, Jasmine Duran, Noah Lennie, Riley Wetsch, Josh Froelich, Courtney Braun, Ashlyn Bergan, Isaiah Goodhouse and Beau Hickman; Sax Quartet CBI — Jared Fitterer, Kaylena Fried, Riley Wetsch and Beau Hickman; Sax Quartet CBII — Anna Masseth, Kaden Felch, Noah Lennie and Isaiah Goodhouse; Sax Quartet CBII — Maddie Pringle, Abby Anderson, Ashlyn Bergan and Courtney Braun.

Percussion ensembles: CBI — North Skager, Maggie Beach, Alexandra Catalano, Parker Minh, Riley Griffin, Breckon Felch, Ethan Babb, Sophie Lind and Beau Hickman; CBIII — Kylie Beaver, Aubrey Spangelo, Olivia Leingang, Brandon Moser, Jason Martin, Ryan Ulrich and Cassidy Schmidt; CBIII — Eric LaFleur, Ana Ross, Livia Obrigewitch, Bryce Bennett, Laura Beach and North Skager.

Students elected

Quinn Wrigley, a junior at Shiloh Christian School in Bismarck, was elected president of the North Dakota Association of Student Councils at its recent state conference in Bismarck.

Nearly 1,400 students and advisers from 91 schools attended the three-day event.

Ashlee Potter, a student at Wachter Middle School in Bismarck, and Jonas Bubach, a student at Erik Ramstad Middle School in Minot, were elected middle-level representatives.