Nygard receives

Tina Nygard, of Bismarck, received the Martha Kruse Furbur Library Scholarship Fund for the 2017-18 academic year at Emporia State University, Emporia, Kan.

Hinkel performs

Wheaton College student Ethan Hinkel performed in "Messiah, Prince of Peace," the 2017 Christmas Festival presented by the Wheaton (Ill.) College Conservatory of Music.

Hinkel, of Minot, sang bass with the concert choir.

UN-L graduates

The University of Nebraska-Lincoln conferred 1,505 degrees during commencement exercises Dec. 15-16.

Area students among the graduates are Drew Wiseman, Bismarck, bachelor of science in electrical engineering, and Charles Shirek, Minot, bachelor of arts.

Med scholarships

Eighty-four medical students at the University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences are sharing in more than $260,000 in scholarships for the 2017-18 academic year

Area scholarship recipients are listed alphabetically by graduating class and hometown, with the names of their scholarships.

2018: Bismarck —Jordan Bleth, Howard, Clarine & Karen Robinson Scholarship; Jennifer Glatt, Karen & Elvira Lynner Memorial Medical Scholarship; Syed Hyder, Floyd & Ann Marshall Scholarship, Dr. Carol Thorstad Memorial Scholarship; Adam Swigost, Karen & Elvira Lynner Memorial Medical Scholarship. Mandan —Whitney Bettenhausen, Academic Achievement Award; Minot —Megan Schmidt, Dr. Steve & Sue Laxdal Scholarship; Williston —Mari Goldade, Dr. Donald & Marjorie Meredith Medical Scholarship; Katherine Wilt, Arden & Bertha Anderson Scholarship, Dr. John Graham Memorial Scholarship Award Endowment, Dr. John R. Fischer Medical Scholarship.

2019: Bismarck —Jace Kusler, Dr. Arthur Saiki Award, Dr. Michael Kincheloe Scholarship. Williston —Rory Guenther, Dr. Donald & Marjorie Meredith Medical Scholarship.

2021: Bismarck — Mary Johanson, Logan Hetherington Award; Cassandra Walth, Medical School Dean's Scholarship, Academic Achievement Award. Carrington — Austin Hewitt, Janice Granum Medical Scholarship, Marlys E Schuh M.D. Scholarship, Medical School Dean's Scholarship. Minot — Lane Vendsel, Medical School Dean’s Scholarship, N.D. Academic Scholarship, Academic Achievement Award. New Town — Brooke Fettig, N.D. Academic Scholarship, Noah & Carrie Gregory Scholarship, Dr. Paul C. Quistgard Scholarship, Mary Elizabeth Dryden Wiltrout Memorial Scholarship. Wishek — Daniel Sayler, N.D. Academic Scholarship, Medical School Dean’s Scholarship, Dr. Donald & Marjorie Meredith Medical Scholarship.

UTTC graduates

Twenty-nine students were honored Dec. 15, during the commencement ceremony at United Tribes Technical College in Bismarck. The mid-year grads received bachelor of science degrees, associate of applied science degrees, certificates of completion and diplomas.

The graduates:

Automotive Technology: Sasha LaRocque, New Town; Quinn LaRocque, Bismarck; Steven Marks, Bismarck; Jay Martin, Cannon Ball; Kenneth One Feather Jr., Bismarck; Willie Eagle Heart Sam, Bismarck.

Business Administration-A.A.S.: Shelby Greeley, South Sioux City, Neb.; Kendrick Ruiz, Fort Yates.

Business Administration-B.S.: Jolene DeCoteau, Lincoln.

Business Management: Stacey Chapman, Mandan; Dimitri Chavez, Bismarck.

Criminal Justice-A.A.S.: Dione Bell Rock, Crow Agency, Mont.; Garrett McLain, Bismarck.

Criminal Justice-BS: Sarah Lawrence, Mobridge, S.D.

Elementary Education-AAS: Brooke Kemmet, Bismarck; Brianna Provost, Fargo; Tonia Rides Horse, New Town.

Elementary Education-B.S.: Dakota Eagle, Cannonball.

Health, Physical Education and Recreation: Ky’Lee Driftwood, Bismarck.

Graphic Design: Amanda Long, Flandreau, S.D.

Culinary Arts: Walter Loves Him, Poplar, Mont.; Peyton Papakee, Bismarck.

Heavy Equipment: Eloy Brady, Mandan; Travis Fleck, Mandan; Roderick Grant, Bismarck; Dominic Hamel, Kyle, S.D.; Alexander Lambert, Bismarck; Ian Moran, Eagle Butte, S.D.; Isaiah Yelloweyes, Bismarck.

Moch selected

Kari Moch, Edgeley, has been named Dickinson State University’s 2017-18 Student Nurse of the Year and will compete for the state title during the Nursing Students’ Association of North Dakota convention in January in Dickinson.

Angie Decker, Belfield, was among junior nursing candidates for the title at DSU.

Moch was also recently selected for a summer nurse externship in Bismarck with Sanford Health, working in the intensive care unit. After she graduates next year she plans to continue working in critical care to gain experience so she can become involved in medical missions.