On campus - Dec. 29, 2013

2013-12-29T00:15:00Z On campus - Dec. 29, 2013 Bismarck Tribune
December 29, 2013 12:15 am

UND graduates

More than 860 University of North Dakota students received degrees during winter commencement held Dec. 14 at Chester Fritz Auditorium on campus.

Area graduates include:

Bismarck — Chad Anderson (JD), Linda Babb (BGS), Sonja Collin (BBA), Patrick Dehne (BBA), Christa Fischer (BSED, magna cum laude), Yonas Haddis (BA), Olivia Heintz (BSCN), Casie Hoffert (BSED), Andrew Jordan (MEd), Christopher Korkowski (BSCE), Paige Kuznia (BA), Kelsey Ledger (BSED, cum laude), Theresa Magelky (PhD), Sarah Nelson (BSED, magna cum laude), Julijana Nevland (PhD), Jeffrey Pape (MENGR), Lacey Pfleger (MS), Alexa Rudnick (BBA), Andrew Seeberg (BSCE, magna cum laude), Tonya Sigl (MS), Sheryl Stewart (BSN, cum laude), Ashley Toth (BGS), Alexander Wirth (BBA); Bowman — Megan Kelly (BAcc, magna cum laude), Whitney Wild (BSED);

Carrington — Taylor Franchuk (BSKIN, cum laude), Kaitlyn Schlegel (BSChE); Center — Jacob Henke (BAcc);

Dickinson — Kayla Jahraus (BA), William Murtha (MA);

Ellendale — Adam Heine (BAcc and BBA, summa cum laude);

Flasher — Larissa Unruh (BSMLS); Fort Yates — Vincent Keener (BBA);

Hazen — Erica Duewel (BSN, magna cum laude), Monica Goetz (BSN, magna cum laude), Allee Mead (BA, summa cum laude);

Killdeer — Chelsee Berg (BSCJS);

Lincoln — Mandi Clausnitzer (MSW); Linton — Frederick Burke (BS), James Fries (MEd);

Mandan — Jesse Kist (BSCE, magna cum laude), Tyler Ruff (BSFWB), Thomas Sperling (BA); McClusky — Chantal Faul (BSMLS);

New Leipzig — Crystal Stoller (BSMLS);

Ray — Britta Liesener (BSCJS);

Tappen — Ashley Dockter (BSN);

Velva — Elizabeth Letvin (BAcc, magna cum laude);

Williston — Christopher Barke (BS), Kyle Bondy (BSKIN), Aaron Dye (BSATSC), Tyler Eiken (BBA, summa cum laude), Alyssa Granley (MS), Patrick Hendrickson (MBA), Cody Hoskins (BSGEOL, cum laude), Garred Olson (BSPTE, summa cum laude), Erin Tofte (BAcc);

Wilton — Kalea Morlock (MSW); and

Zap — Brandon Renner (BSA, summa cum laude).

Honors list

Savannah DeBlieck of New Town was named to Massanutten Academy’s honors list for the first grading period of the 2013-14 school year in Woodstock, Va.

In order to be given this award, a cadet must show academic prowess by receiving no grade lower than a B-. This grading period, 29 cadets were given this award.

Cadets who achieved honors list were given a Silver Eagle certificate to display, and a voucher for ice cream at a local restaurant.

Pacific University

Anya Dvirnak of Bismarck has graduated from Pacific University in Forest Grove, Ore., with a master’s degree in physician assistant studies.

New scholarship

University of North Dakota is now offering a new scholarship award of $6,000 ($1,500/year) for freshmen starting next fall. Incoming freshmen with ACT scores of 25 and higher or SAT math and reading combined score of 1130 and higher along with a 3.50 and higher cumulative high school grade-point averages can be awarded the new $6,000 scholarship.

All incoming freshmen admitted by March 1 for next fall will automatically be considered for one of the academic scholarships.

For more information about UND scholarship opportunities, visit UND.edu/scholarships.

MSUM degrees

Minnesota State University Moorhead awarded degrees to 425 students during its fall commencement held Dec. 19 at Alex Nemzek Fieldhouse.

Area graduates include:

Beulah — Christopher Bothun, bachelor of science in speech/language/hearing science, cum laude; Kaylee Barker, bachelor of science in elementary inclusive education, summa cum laude; Krista Boehm, bachelor of science in mass communications, cum laude; Macy Egeland, bachelor of science in mass communications, cum laude; Mathew Gleeson, bachelor of science in mass communications, cum laude; Eric Hanson, bachelor of arts in biology; Katrina Jangula, bachelor of arts in biology, summa cum laude; Nikko Raymo, bachelor of arts in theater arts;

Dickinson — James Murphy, bachelor of arts in philosophy;

Linton — Ashlee Bernhardt, bachelor of science in communication arts and literature education, magna cum laude;

Mott — Claire Fiedler, bachelor of fine arts in studio art; Medora — Erica Odermann, bachelor of fine arts in art education, summa cum laude;

New Salem — Megan Toepke, bachelor of science in mathematics education, cum laude;

St. Anthony — Elizabeth Westberg, bachelor of science in business administration; and

Wilton — Kayla Peake, bachelor of science in communication arts and literature education.

UTTC commencement

United Tribes Technical College held fall graduation on Dec. 20.

Two asterisks denote double majors and three asterisks denote summer graduates.

Area graduates include:

Bachelor of science — business administration: Brianna Baird-Pollert (Three Affiliated), honors, Bismarck; ***Aja Baker (Three Affiliated), honors, Bismarck; and ***Laramie Plainfeather (Crow Agency), honors, Bismarck; and elementary education: Memoree Dupris-Skinner (Cheyenne River), honors, Bismarck; and Tyson Maxon (Cheyenne River), Bismarck.

Associate of applies science — art/art marketing: ***Shane Brunelle (Turtle Mountain), Bismarck; business office technology-administrative assistant: Jessica LaVallie (Turtle Mountain), Bismarck; elementary education: Shanaye Packineau (Three Affiliated) Bismarck; nutrition and food service/wellness: Amber Cleveland-Redman (Ho-chunk Nation), honors, Bismarck; Dolly Drapeau (Crow Creek), Bismarck; and Heather Demaray (Three Affiliated), honors, Bismarck; environmental lab technician: Sheralyn Plante (Three Affiliated), Parshall; and small business management: Marion Declay (White Mountain Apache), honors, Bismarck; and Susan Emery, Bismarck.

Certificate of completion — business office technology: Alfreda Wall (Ute Mountain), Bismarck; and Melody Bruguier (Cheyenne River Tribe), honors, Bismarck; tribal management: Tenille Burning Breast (Rosebud), Bismarck; and **Doreen Welsh-Pretends Eagle (Colorado River Tribes), honors, Mandan; and welding: Wayne Bearstail (Three Affiliated), Bismarck; Dylan Carry Moccasin (Standing Rock), Fort Yates; Isaiah Hunte (Standing Rock), Cannon Ball; Jay Koch (Standing Rock), Bismarck; Tyson Red Bear (Cheyenne River), Bismarck; and Roger Standish (Three Affiliated), Mandaree.

Copyright 2016 Bismarck Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.