Curtis receives

Bismarck High School graduate Matthew Curtis, of Bismarck, is the recipient of a Chesak Family Scholarship. The $1,000 scholarship will help Curtis pursue a degree in mechanical maintenance technology from Bismarck State College.

To be eligible for the scholarship students must be accepted for admission into one of five specified programs at BSC, be enrolled full time, have maintained a high school or college grade-point average of 2.50 cumulative or higher and be a new student at BSC.

Med students begin

Seventy-nine first-year medical students have undergone orientation at the University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences.

Activities included the White Coat Ceremony on Aug. 11 at which students received their first white coats, the physician’s traditional garment.

Area students in the class are as follows:

Bismarck — Taylor Crothers, Bethany Erickson, Matthew Gerenz, Mary Johanson, Cassondra Kambeitz, Elizabeth Schaff, Andrea Taborsky and Cassandra Walth. Bowbells — Kaylee Dockter.

Dickinson — Sean Nash.

Killdeer — Gerald Kulish.

LaMoure — Melissa Johnson.

Minot — Alexander Buchholz, Rakan Dodin and Lane Vendsel.

New Town — Brooke Fettig.

Wishek — Daniel Sayler.

Jassek achieves

Jillian Jassek, of Dickinson, was named to the spring semester Dean’s List at the University of Dallas, Irving, Texas. A semester grade-point average of 3.5 or higher is required.

Jassek is majoring in theology.

Yantes awarded

Benjamin Yantes, son of Michael and Pamela Yantes, Bismarck, received the North Dakota State University Provost’s Scholarship in the amount of $6,000. The scholarship recognizes high academic achievement.

Yantes will enter NDSU this fall and plans to major in nursing and minor in business. In high school, he was active in Future Business Leaders of America, Saints for Life, Catholic Athletes for Christ, Knights of Virtue, National Honor Society, Students Against Destructive Decisions, soccer, football, hockey and wrestling.

Music scholarship

Katherine George, Minot, has been awarded the Music Alliance Scholarship at Valdosta State University in Georgia for the 2017-18 academic year.

George is one of 382 currently enrolled, incoming first-year or transfer students selected to receive a scholarship through VSU Foundation Inc. The scholarships established by private donors are awarded each year to students with excellent academic achievement and/or financial need.

UND summer grads

The summer commencement ceremony at the University of North Dakota was held Aug. 4.

Here, by hometown, are the area students who were eligible to cross the stage.

Berthold — Kyle Peterson, master of science. Bismarck — Hannah Andring, master of science; Shaylene Burman, master of science; Sean Cleary, master of science in applied economics; Kirstie Dienert, master of science; Janet Dixon, master of arts; Casey Dohm, bachelor of accountancy; Morgan Fetch, bachelor of arts, magna cum laude; Fierra Huschka, master of social work; Scott Kinnischtzke, master of science; Chantel Schanandore, bachelor of arts; Courtney Schneider, bachelor of science in kinesiology; Karmen Sorenson, doctor of philosophy; Apryl Walth, master of science. Bowman — Brady Roemmich, bachelor of science.

Dickinson — Delanie Ficek, bachelor of science in social work; Samantha Forsch, bachelor of general studies, magna cum laude; Alexandra Heidt, bachelor of music, cum laude); Melanie Herauf, master of science; Lawrence Weber, bachelor of business administration.

Jamestown — Page Klostreich, bachelor of general studies; Alison Kopp, bachelor of general studies, magna cum laude; Jacquelyn Loepp, master of science; Cheri Odenbach, master of education.

Mandan — Lindsey Bauer, master of science; Breanna Irvine, master of science; Madison Krebsbach, master of science; Daniel Leingang, doctor of philosophy; Kayla McLeod, bachelor of fine arts magna cum laude; Jocelyn Seiler, master of science. Mandaree — Nicole Beston, bachelor of science in nursing. Minot — Marcie Heller, bachelor of science in nursing; Shane Trulson, bachelor of science in petroleum engineering; Hope Tschaekofske, master of social work; Maren Vangsness, bachelor of arts.

New Town — Shelley Davis, bachelor of science.

Stanley — Brandon Narum, bachelor of arts, magna cum laude.

Watford City — Chans Brown, bachelor of science in kinesiology; Katie Skarda, bachelor of science in community nutrition. Williston — Brittany Skabo, bachelor of arts, cum laude; Breann Smith, bachelor of science in education magna cum laude; Kayla Weber, master of science.