Scholarship search

The Miss Dickinson Scholarship Pageant Committee is looking for contestants to compete for three titles that will be awarded on June 25 in Dickinson in conjunction with Roughrider Days. Young women, who will be high school seniors through age 24, will compete for three $500 scholarships and the opportunity to compete in the Miss North Dakota Pageant in 2012. Contestants will compete in talent, personal interview, evening gown and lifestyle and fitness in swimsuit.

The Miss Dickinson Pageant Committee is also looking for contestants to compete for three teen titles that will be held in conjunction with the Miss Dickinson pageant.

Young women entering grades 9-11 next fall are eligible to compete for cash scholarships as well as the opportunity to compete in the Miss North Dakota Outstanding Teen Pageant in 2012. Contestants will compete in talent, personal interview, evening gown and sportswear categories.

No prior pageant experience is necessary to enter. The pageant is open to all North Dakota residents or students.

For more information or to receive an application, contact SuAnn Olson at

701-220-0907 or Annette Bohnsack at 701-527-0727.

Artist fellowships

The North Dakota Council on the Arts has awarded two artist fellowships in the amount of $2,500 each. The area recipient is Frank Koch (traditional arts/crafts/visual arts) of Bismarck. Both were recommended by a review panel and their selections were approved by the NDCA's Board of Directors.

Woodcarving became Koch's passion about

29 years ago. One of his goals is to do more caricature woodcarvings that represent rural North Dakota folk culture during the period he spent on the farm, in the 1940s and '50s in an authentic and Norman Rockwell-like way. He seeks to represent the life that he and many in his area lived.

Each woodcarving group will have a short narrative describing his thoughts as the piece was created. He hopes to exhibit the newly created collection in venues such as the Buffalo Museum in Jamestown, the Harold Schafer Museum in Medora, the Bismarck P ublic Library and regional woodcarving shows. He will travel to each of the venues to set up the display and then spend the next day doing demonstrations and to answer questions by the public.

Koch hopes to complete five or six pieces within the fellowship period. And his plan is to have a total of

10-12 pieces completed as a traveling Folk Culture exhibit.

VFW awards

Gilbert N. Nelson VFW Post 1326 elected officers for 2011-12. The officers were installed at the annual Loyalty Day program on May 2 at the VFW Post facilities.

The guest speaker, Assistant North Dakota Attorney General Jonathan Byers, was presented with the National VFW Life Saving Award for his action in disarming a man who pulled a gun in court in Hettinger following a trial there. Byers knocked the man to the floor, allowing law enforcement officials to take the him into custody.

The award was presented by state VFW Senior Vice Commander Robert Bird of Bismarck and a member of VFW Post 1326.

Elected and installed as officers were re-elected Post Commander, Chris Ebertz; Senior Vice Commander Ron Harmon; Junior Vice Commander Wayne Patterson; Quartermaster Orlin Jacobson; Judge Advocate Keith Magnusson; Surgeon Roy Dockter; the Rev. Dale Nabben, a chaplain; Trustee (three-year term) B.J. Brandt; and Board of Managers (three-year term), Floyd Halverson.

The Auxiliary to VFW Post 1326 also elected officers and installed them on May 2.

Installed were Senior Vice President Delores Mattis; Junior Vice President Leah Berg; Secretary Nancy Christenson; Treasurer Janice Becker; Chaplain Robin Thompson; Conductress Joan Eckroth; Guard Mary Ann Morford; Trustee (three-year) Teresa Kalal; Trustee (two-year), Ruby Dannenfelzer and Trustee (one-year) Alice Vogele.

Mattis presented awards to three students in the Bismarck Public School art program for their entries in the Auxiliary's Patriotic Art Contest.

Winning were 1. Quinn Cullen, 2. Sommer Schmeichel, and 3. Kate Haas. The first-place winner's entry has been forwarded to the State Department VFW Ladies Auxiliary for the state-level judging.

DSC Recognition

Dickinson State University paid tribute to several of its employees during the university's annual Years of Service Recognition ceremony on April 26. Faculty and staff service awards are sponsored each year by the Dickinson State University Foundation.

The following members of the DSU community received a plaque and a cash stipend:

Dr. Karen Foster, assistant professor of English, received the Distinguished Educator of the Year Award.

Ashley Stark, assistant professor of accounting, received the Outstanding Educator of the Year Award-College of Education, Business and Applied Science.

Shawna Egli, lecturer of math and computer science, received the Innovative Educator of the Year Award.

Jarri Newton, adjunct lecturer of agriculture, received the Adjunct Teacher of the Year Award.

Seth Soman, assistant professor of agriculture, received the Faculty/Student Collaborative Research/Collaborative Scholarship Award.

Kim Thiel, technical support technician, received the Professional Staff Service Award-Office of Computer Services.

Deanna Bakken, administrative secretary for the Strom Center for Entrepreneurship and Innovation, received the Paraprofessional/Secretarial/Clerical Staff Service Award.

Victoria Carlson, custodian for the Office of Facility Operations, received the Physical Plan Staff Service Award.

Dickinson dean

Dr. Richard McCallum, president of Dickinson State University, announced that Dr. Kenneth Haught, chairman of the DSC Department of Fine and Performing Arts, has accepted the position of dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Haught will take over the position effective July 1.

As the dean of arts and sciences, Haught will oversee six departments: Fine and Performing Arts, Music, Language and Literature, Social Science, Mathematics and Computer Science and Natural Sciences.

Haught, a full professor of communication and theater, has been a member of the DSU community for nearly 18 years, 14 of which have been as chairman.

In addition, to his administrative and teaching responsibilities, he has directed numerous plays and musicals over the years.

Before coming to DSU in 1993, Haught was an assistant professor at St. Cloud State University in St. Cloud, Minn.

He received his bachelor of arts in theater from Clarion State University in Clarion, Pa.; a master of arts in speech and oral interpretation from Emerson College in Boston; a master of fine arts from Mankato State University in Mankato, Minn.; and a doctorate in rhetoric from Wayne State University in Detroit.