Hall of Famers

Trinity Catholic Schools, Dickinson, has announced the 2017 Titan Hall of Fame Inductees. The Trinity High School Alumni Committee, in cooperation with the Trinity Catholic Schools Office of Mission Advancement, is recognizing five alumni, one team and two veteran teachers.

The inductees were nominated this past spring and the Titan Hall of Fame Selection Committee voted in July on the 2017 class of inductees. Inductees are chosen for their outstanding contributions to Trinity Catholic Schools and Trinity High School, as well as their continued successes in their chosen fields of endeavor.

This year’s inductees are:

• Male Athlete: Tom Willer, THS class of 1976.

• Female Athlete: Julie Biel, THS class of 1977.

• Coach: Craig Kovash, THS class of 1981.

• Team: 2001 football team.

• Fine Arts: Jerry Schiff, THS class of 1981.

• Fine Arts: James Wolberg, THS class of 1995.

• Titan: Marleen Schnaidt.

• Titan: Mary Margaret Wolf (posthumously).

Pathway grant

The city of Bismarck is the recipient of an AARP grant totaling $12,610 as part of the AARP Community Challenge that aims to create change and enhance quality of life for people of all ages at the community level.

Eighty-nine grants totaling $780,000 were awarded to projects across the 50 states and the District of Columbia.

The Bismarck grant will fund a “quick-build” pedestrian and bike pathway from downtown Bismarck to the Missouri River waterfront parks and trail system. The Pop-Up Pathway project will hold a kickoff event Sept. 23, with events planned each Saturday through Oct. 14. The events along the pathway will include polling stations to gather input on the route and gauge interest in a permanent pathway.

Partnering with the city in the demonstration project are Go! Bismarck-Mandan, Bismarck Parks and Recreation District, Bismarck-Burleigh Public Health and Bismarck Downtowners.

Toastmaster awards

Members of the Centurion Toastmaster Club earned several 2017 awards.

Educational Awards were earned as follows: Michele Blumhagen, Advanced Communicator Silver, Competent Communicator; Bonnie Dowhaniuk, Competent Leader, LDREXC; Jessica Rockeman, Competent Communicator; Stacey Kautzman, Competent Leader; Amy Mayer, Advanced Communicator Silver, Competent Leader, LDREXC; Kenneth Olheiser, Advanced Communicator Bronze; and Reyne Richter, Advanced Communicator Silver.

Daniel Heitzman earned the Most “Best Table Topics” Award; Mayer, Most “Best Speaker” Award; Rockeman, Rookie of the Year; Nicole Jacobs, Over-Achiever Award; Blumhagen, Courageous Leader Award; and Richter, Centurion Club Toastmaster of the Year.

The club was selected Area 34 TM of the Year and Division C TM of the Year.