4-H leadership

The Burleigh County 4-H Council has elected its 2017-18 executive board.

Laurette Nagel, the president, works for Aetna in Bismarck. Leader of the Creative Cool Kids club, Nagel has been a 4-H leader for eight years.

The vice president is Doreen Swenson, a nurse for Sanford Health. A 4-H leader for seven years, she is a co-leader of Dynamite Kids.

Heather Messmer-Holle, secretary, is a teacher at the YMCA. This is her first year as a leader, serving as a co-leader of The Lucky Clovers.

The treasurer is Stacey Spadgenske, a stay-at-home mom who is in her first year as a leader in Burleigh County. She is a co-leader of Caring Hands.

The 4-H council is the governing body for the Burleigh County 4-H program, which has 234 members in 15 clubs.

Planners win award

Several employees of the Bismarck Public Library have received the 2017 Innovator Award from the Mountain Plains Library Association.

Employees Traci Juhala, Laura Rysavy, Becky Needham, Troy Hamre, Lexie Smith, Matt Hovland, Sheldon Steckler, Sarah Matthews, Nicole Ortega, Allison Keller and Karen Thompson were cited for their creative and resourceful efforts in organizing Bismarck’s first local Comic Con event.

The award recognizes an individual or group for a creative, inventive, trail-blazing project that has significance to a library’s community.

The Comic Con in May attracted over 1,100 comic and pop culture enthusiasts. Plans are underway for a 2018 Comic Con.

Teaching award

Leah Juelke, an English language instructor at Fargo South High School, has been named the North Dakota Teacher of the Year for 2018.

The five finalists for the award included Heather Jane Tomlin-Rohr, a kindergarten teacher at Louis L’Amour Elementary in Jamestown, and Lynae Holmen, who teaches special needs and deaf and hard of hearing students at Longfellow Elementary in Minot.

Taylor recognized

Vanessa Taylor, Bismarck State College associate professor of surgical technology, has been recognized by the National Board of Surgical Technology & Surgical Assisting for maintaining certification for 25 years as a certified surgical technologist.

A graduate of East Grand Forks Technical College, BSC and Valley City State University, Taylor started work as a surgical technologist in 1992 and in 2005 began teaching as an adjunct in BSC’s surgical technology program. She also is an adjunct with the University of North Dakota School of Medicine assisting third- and fourth-year medical students with orientation into surgical rotations.