Stroke care awards

The North Dakota Stroke System of Care Task Force recently gave awards to critical access hospitals for their stroke care, based on data collected from hospitals by the North Dakota State Stroke Registry.

The North Dakota Department of Health recognized the following area facilities for supporting the efforts necessary to foster better outcomes for stroke care:

• National Institute of Health Stroke Scale Documentation Award, Southwest Healthcare Service, Bowman.

• IV rt-PA Arrive by 2 Hour, Treat by 3 Hour Award, Tioga Medical Center, Tioga.

• Door to CT in Less Than 25 Minutes Award, Mercy Medical Center, Williston.

• Time to Intravenous Thrombolytic Therapy 60 Minutes Award, West River Regional Medical Center, Hettinger.

• North Dakota Critical Access Hospital Quality Measure Set Award, Jamestown Regional Medical Center, Jamestown.

Recognized by the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association for excellence in care were these area Primary Stroke Centers:

• Get With The Guidelines: Stroke GOLD PLUS Achievement Award, CHI St. Alexius Health, Bismarck, and Trinity Health, Minot.

• Get With The Guidelines: Stroke SILVER PLUS Achievement Award, Sanford Medical Center, Bismarck.

Group aids site

St. George’s Piecemakers donated $1,275 to the North Dakota Historical Society for use toward restoring and maintaining the Bread of Life Episcopal Church at Camp Hancock in Bismarck.

The group from St. George’s Episcopal Church in Bismarck raised the money through a quilt raffle. Thrivent Financial awarded the Piecemakers a grant that helped buy the materials to make the quilt.

Lang recognized

Sharon Lang, Sterling, has been named a “Hometown Hero” by Modern Woodmen of America for her volunteer work with the Burleigh County Senior Adults Program Sterling Meals Program.

The Burleigh County Senior Adults Program offers congregate and home-delivered meals to adults age 60 and over.

Modern Woodmen of America is a member-owned fraternal financial services organization.

Korslien awarded

Renae Korslien, Minot, general manager of the North Dakota State Fair, received a Friend of Extension Award from Epsilon Sigma Phi, the North Dakota State University Extension Service honorary organization.

Work recognized

Two people from Dickinson are among those to be honored Thursday when the Northern Plains Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals hosts National Philanthropy Day.

North Dakotans and northwest Minnesotans who engage in philanthropy and volunteerism will be recognized at the event in Fargo.

Irene Schafer, a 1983 graduate of what was then Dickinson State College, will receive the Outstanding Individual Volunteer Award. Schafer volunteers for several organizations and founded the Power of 100 Women, a group that has grown to over 200 women and this year will donate over $80,000 to four charities.

Debora Dragseth and her Business Ethics Class at Dickinson State University will receive the Outstanding Volunteer Group Award. For the past four years, the class has collected items for the Red Paper Clip Auction, with proceeds donated to a charity or charities chosen by the class.