Arts-related grants

The North Dakota Council on the Arts recently awarded $598,053 in nine grant programs for fiscal year 2018.

Area recipients are listed below.

• Arts in Education Collaboration ($6,000 each): Bismarck Art & Galleries Association, Bismarck; Grimsrud Elementary School, Bismarck; Prairie Rose Elementary School, Bismarck; Roosevelt Elementary School, Bismarck; Solheim Elementary School, Bismarck; Standing Rock Community Elementary School, Fort Yates; Standing Rock Community Middle School, Fort Yates; Jamestown High School, Jamestown; Louis L’Amour Elementary School, Jamestown; and Stony Creek Middle School, Williston.

• Artist in Residence: Highland Acres Elementary School, Bismarck, Cultural, Kaleidoscope-Russian, $2,500; Pride Manchester House, Bismarck, Nicole Gagner, $1,370; Rita Murphy Elementary School, Bismarck, Ali LaRock, $2,500; Saint Anne School, Bismarck, ND Strong, $2,500; St. Mary’s Grade School, Bismarck, ND Strong, $2,500; Hettinger Public School District, Hettinger, Monte Selby, $2,500; White Shield School District, Roseglen, Guillermo Guardia, $2,011; and Tioga Public School District, Tioga, Cultural Kaleidoscope-Russian, $2,500.

• Community Arts Access-Tier 1: Anne Carlsen Center-VSA Arts of North Dakota, Bismarck, $3,000; Bowdon Development Center, Bowdon, $2,000; Wells County Fair Association, Fessenden, $3,000; Hazen Art and Craft Association, Hazen, $2,500; Kulm Public School, Kulm, $2,500; and Sibyl Center/Foundation for Life Enrichment, Stanley, $3,000.

• Community Arts Access-Tier 2: Bismarck State College Foundation, Bismarck, $3,000; Dakota Woodturners, Bismarck, $2,000; Flickertail Woodcarvers, Bismarck, $1,200; Gallery 522, Bismarck, $1,000; Missouri River Community Band, Bismarck, $3,000; N.D. Center for the Public Good/Urban Harvest, Bismarck, $2,000; North Dakota Ukrainian Dance Association, Dickinson, $3,000; Mandan Musicians Association, Mandan, $3,000.

• Folk and Traditional Arts Apprenticeship (city, with artist and apprentice): Belfield, Mark Hoechst, Kyle Pennington, $3,000; Bismarck, Daniel Roberts, John Lardinois, $3,000; Bismarck, John Gross, Joe Gross, $3,000 ; Bismarck and Jamestown, Pieper Bloomquist, Molly McLain/Sabring Hornung, $3,000; Mandan, DuWayne Marthaller, Rebecca Kielpinski/Mark Kielpinski, $2,050; Minot, Dean Hagen, Brook Hermanson, $2,695; Minot, Gerald Schlag, Andrew Davenport, $1,393; Minot, John Martinson, Harold Marten/Josh Thom, $2,479; and Williston, Robert Larsen, Paul Bauer, $2,056.

• Institutional Support: Bismarck Art & Galleries Association, Bismarck, $8,015; Bismarck-Mandan Civic Chorus, Bismarck, $4,754; Central Dakota Children’s Choir, Bismarck, $8,542; Dakota Stage Ltd., Bismarck, $5,351; Dakota West Arts Council, Bismarck, $6,929; Missouri Valley Chamber Orchestra, Bismarck, $5,234; Northern Plains Dance, Bismarck, $9,000; Sleepy Hollow Theatre & Arts Park, Bismarck, $8,663; THEO, Bismarck, $7,690; Dickinson State University Art Gallery, Dickinson, $4,858; Ukrainian Cultural Institute, Dickinson, $5,662; Jamestown Fine Arts Association, Jamestown, $9,000; International Music Camp, Minot, $9,000; Minot Area Council of the Arts, Minot, $7,195; Minot Chamber Chorale Association Inc., Minot, $6,681; Minot State University-NW Art Gallery, Minot, $7,429; Minot Symphony Association, Minot, $7,816; N.D. Art Gallery Association, Minot, $6,921; Taube Museum of Art, Minot, $5,734; Western Plains Opera, Minot, $7,427; Entertainment Inc!, Williston, $7,195; and James Memorial Preservation Society, Williston, $6,755;

• Professional Development ($1,000 each): Caitlin Knowles, Joan Eckroth-Riley and Rhonda Gowen, all of Bismarck.

Riehl honored

Trudy Riehl, associate professor and program director of surgical technology at Bismarck State College, recently received the Fellow of the Association of Surgical Technologists award and was honored at 48th annual Association of Surgical Technologists Surgical Technology Conference in New Orleans.

The award is AST’s highest honor, recognizing significant contributions to the profession of surgical technology as practitioners, educators, researchers and administrators.

Riehl has been an associate professor of surgical technology at BSC for 17 years.

Moose recognition

Clarence Jahner, Bismarck, a member of Bismarck Lodge No. 302, Loyal Order of Moose, received the Pilgrim Degree of Merit, the highest honor for a Moose member.

The conferral and presentation of the accompanying gold blazer was held in Mooseheart, Ill., on June 3.

The degree is held by less than one-half of 1 percent of Moose members throughout the United States, Canada, Great Britain and Bermuda. It is earned through years of “above-the-call-of-duty” service to the fraternity and its main philanthropic endeavors of Mooseheart, a city for children in need, and Moosehaven, a retirement community for senior members.

Certification given

The Dickinson State University Testing Center has been awarded certification by the National College Testing Association, based on the NCTA Professional Standards and Guidelines, which were developed to guide post-secondary test centers in the delivery of quality testing programs.

After more than two years of continued efforts, the DSU Testing Center received its official certification, valid through July 2022. At the end of this term, the certification can be renewed by demonstrating continued compliance to national standards.

Teaching honors

Sarah Crossingham, a high school teacher at Wishek Public School, has been named the 2017 North Dakota History Teacher of the Year.

The award is sponsored by The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. The North Dakota History Teacher of the Year Award is coordinated by Neil Howe, North Dakota Studies program coordinator at the State Historical Society of North Dakota.

Crossingham will receive a $1,000 honorarium, and her school’s library will receive a core archive of history books and educational materials from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. She will also receive an invitation to a 2018 Gilder Lehrman Teacher Seminar, a weeklong program that offers teachers daily discussions with eminent historians, visits to historic sites and hands-on work with primary sources.

Crossingham received her bachelor’s degree from Dickinson State University in 2011.

Started in 2004, the History Teacher of the Year Award honors one exceptional K-12 teacher from each state, the District of Columbia, Department of Defense schools and U.S. Territories. The selection of the state winner is based upon several criteria, including at least three years of classroom experience in teaching American history; a demonstrated commitment to teaching American history; evidence of creativity and imagination in the classroom; and effective use of documents, artifacts, historic sites, oral histories and other primary resources.

A National History Teacher of the Year will be selected from among state winners and honored at a ceremony in New York City on Nov. 8.