Perhaps one of the most enduring historical landmarks in the area is the Custer House at Fort Abraham Lincoln.
Just a few minutes drive south of Mandan, Lt. George Armstrong Custer and his wife, Libbie, lived in the house at the fort from 1873 until Custer died at the Battle of the Little Big Horn in the summer of 1876.
Previously known as Fort McKeen, Fort Lincoln was renamed in 1872 and was home to the 7th Cavalry.
The original house built for the Custers burned down in 1874 and was rebuilt. The second house was disassembled in 1894 and in 1989, a group of local leaders formed the Fort Abraham Lincoln Foundation to rebuild the house.
The house has been refurnished as it was in Custer’s time and is open to the public for living history tours.
Interpreters dressed in period costumes guide visitors through the house which today is mostly filled with recreation pieces of furniture, dishes and clothing, but there are a number of articles on display that were actually owned by the Custers.
From the kitchen to the parlor to the music room, the tours give visitors a real taste of what daily life was like on the Dakota Territory prairie in the late 1800s.