Zimmermans receive steakhouse award

Dale and Melodie Zimmerman, owners of 40 Steak + Seafood and Peacock Alley in Bismarck, recently received the Steakhouse of the Year award from the Certified Angus Beef brand during its annual conference in Nashville, Tenn.

Council presents safety, service awards

Safety and distinguished service awards were presented at the Lignite Energy Council’s Fall Conference on Oct. 4.

Employees of the Freedom and Coyote Creek mines, both at Beulah and both subsidiaries of North American Coal, received the Safety Excellence Award for having the lowest overall accident incident rate in the state lignite industry in 2016.

Distinguished Safety Awards recognizing accident incident rates lower than the industry average went to Otter Tail Power’s Coyote Station, Beulah; Minnkota Power Cooperative’s Milton R. Young Station, Center; Montana-Dakota Utilities Co.’s Lewis & Clark Station, Sidney, Mont.; BNI Coal’s Center Mine, Center; and The Falkirk Mining Co.’s Falkirk Mine, Underwood.

Basin Electric Power Cooperative received the Community Service Award for its work in developing a community day care center in Hazen.

Russ Smith, a vice president with TriTec Steel Fabrication, won the 2017 Contractor/Supplier Member of the Year Award. He was nominated by employees at the Coyote Station.

Ambassador of Lignite Awards for achievements and support of the lignite industry were given to Jan Rudolf, Otter Tail Power Co.; Doug Stoltz, The Falkirk Mining Co.; Steve Tomac, Basin Electric Power Cooperative; Sue Black, Minnkota Power Cooperative; Becky Luhning, Otter Tail Power Co.; Chris Blowers, BNI Coal; and Chuck Kerr, Great Northern Properties.

Credit unions raise funds for hospitals

Credit unions in North Dakota and South Dakota and the Credit Union Association of the Dakotas raised more than $40,600 in support of Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals on the Sept. 13 Miracle Jeans Day.